PDA

View Full Version : modem connection speed to new ISP



21-01-2002, 09:59 AM
Dear Sir, Madam,

I have recently changed our internet service provider from Xtra to Actrix and have noticed a drop in connection speed from 48K to 33.6K. Actrix tells me that this is due to their server not recognising my older modem as a 56K modem and I need to find an appropriate string to put in the 'extra settings' box of the modem's properties advanced connection settings tab.
I have tried the recommended string below but am still experiencing the slower connection speed.
The modem came already installed in the Hewlett Packard 8120 computer I bought in late 1997.

Multitech Systems MT5634ZPW

Extra setting
AT&F&C1&D2%C0%E2\N3-C0S20=15

address: http://www.terrigal.net.au/support/modem/init.htm

Can you advise me on a different string to use or what I am doing wrong?

Thankyou!

Martin van Beyere
7 Kowhai dr.
Darfield 8172
ph 03 3188395
vanbeyere@actrix.co.nz

21-01-2002, 11:46 AM
first time i've heard of putting in a string to solve an isp's problem. i would suggest getting a better isp.

btw also your full name address telephone number and email addy is not required unless you really want lots of spam, door knockers etc ;-)

21-01-2002, 11:54 AM
I wouldn't call that an 'older modem'... if they can't handle your modem, then I'd suggest changing ISPs again and get a refund for whatever you've paid them.

21-01-2002, 12:13 PM
I cannot help you with strings though I see from your address that you are rural, this might not help matters.
I would almost suggest as Mike and tweak have said, try a different ISP. A good local ISP would be Chch based iNet, call 03.3774103, $20 a month on dialup, unlimited.
Leave out your personal details, while most of us here are friendly, someone who is not might take advantage of that info.

21-01-2002, 03:22 PM
...with ACTRIX, try using each of the following connection numbers to see
if your 'connection' speed improves:

* 08730 - 2287

* 08672 - 2874

* 370 - 2626

Would be interested to hear your feedback.

Cheers!!!

e_

*

P.S. Apart from the drop in 'connection' speed (as shown on your Modem indicator) do you perceive or sense that your Web surfing and downloading is actually slower?

22-01-2002, 01:11 AM
Since its an old one, it may be trying to use the now dead K56flex standard rather than V90 to connect.

Adding +MS=V90 to extra settings will turn on v90 if you modem supports it.