PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Keystone Jack CAT5E Wiring Diagram



mark1978
29-12-2018, 12:34 PM
So, I bought one of the Keystone jack https://www.jaycar.co.nz/rj45-socket-cat5e-keystone-jack-white/p/YN8028 and wall face plate so I can let the ethernet cable run at the back of our wall rather then through the living room. I was keeping myself to this diagram which I found online as I cant make anything out of the piece of instruction paper that came with the jack.http://www.practicallynetworked.com/img/568b.jpg, when connected, it has no signal, (of course)... what the heck am I doing wrong? Also... do I strip the cables on by one before pushing them into each sleeve of the jack?? Aarrgh frustrating.

dugimodo
29-12-2018, 01:07 PM
The picture doesn't show much so it's hard to be sure, normally you don't strip the wires as they are pressed into "IDC" style connections along each side, often with a special tool. They also usually have colour coding marked on the Jack. Are you using these jacks at both ends? the diagram you used is correct but it's one of two possible standards and the important part is to use the same standard layout at each end, if you have a plug on one end make sure the same colours ar eon the same pins.

Maybe this will be helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPsmSDVG4J8
Might give you an Idea

mark1978
29-12-2018, 01:10 PM
Hi dugimodo. I just wired it from 568b to 568A...as I think I made a cross over rather then a straight through connection, am just testing it now, ill have a look at your video shortly.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uw8FSXx4dnU this youtube guy was giving me the idea of wiring it differently

psycik
29-12-2018, 01:33 PM
You may have done 568b but what we’re your patch cables?

I did 568a for my keystones (make sure both ends are same standard) and generally bought 568a patch cables from dynamix

mark1978
29-12-2018, 01:56 PM
Am so confused, I still haven't figured it out.... I THINK I need to connect the 568a... but, once we plug it in, it has no connection :?

CliveM
29-12-2018, 02:48 PM
You must use the same standard at each end of the cable. It doesn't matter which you use A or B but each end must be the same standard.
You will save a lot of time and frustration if you get a cheap cable tester to confirm that it has been correctly done at each end.

wainuitech
29-12-2018, 02:58 PM
The Standard Straight through for patch cables is 568B, there's no need really for crossover these days as Routers are smart enough to compensate in needed.

The Keystone -- Depends on the brand as to the wiring sequence, they are not all the same. On the Keystone jack should be color codes for both A & B, the wire of the same colour has to go to the same color in the jack for which ever you are creating, (Generally B which is straight through).

I'll post back some pictures of what they should look like after I had my cuppa (honest its not booze - yet) ;)

Edited: 2nd what Clive mentioned a cable tester, saves hours of frustration, again I'll post one back working.

mark1978
29-12-2018, 03:36 PM
Ok, ill tell you what happened.....the cables when I pushed them into the sleeves weren't cutting properly, so it wasn't making a connection :( darn it all.... and I had a good friend here as well so we decided to do the 568A and that worked perfectly. Thanks all fo your replies

wainuitech
29-12-2018, 04:10 PM
Doing it in 568A will be leaving yourself open for troubles. In the future make sure you wire everything the same as straight through. 568A is industry standard for cross over, NOT straight through. If someone was to come and wire things up for you and you said you had done them in 568A, you'd be 100% WRONG.

Had to sort out messes before when people didn't really investigate and do things to standards or have a clue what they are doing.


The cable color code is the 568B standard on each end of a straight-through 10/100BaseT cable. If a crossover cable is needed, use the 568A standard on one end and 568B on the other end.

http://www.utm.edu/staff/leeb/568/568.htm

By the sounds you have done "A" wiring at both ends, this is NOT a true "A" configuration.