PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in buying a new laptop??

stu161204
22-06-2018, 05:05 PM
I currently got an Acer Aspire V3-571G laptop that I have been using since August 2012.

As my laptop battery has died and the dvd rom has given upÖ, itís time to look for another laptop.

As it has been a while since I looked for a laptop what sort of things should I look for in buying a new laptop? And what should I avoid??

gary67
22-06-2018, 05:40 PM
An SSD as well as a mechanical hard drive 8Gb RAM and anything else you would like really.

Oh and a full keyboard with number pad and a 17" screen.

Nomad
22-06-2018, 05:43 PM
I currently got an Acer Aspire V3-571G laptop that I have been using since August 2012.

As my laptop battery has died and the dvd rom has given up…, it’s time to look for another laptop.

As it has been a while since I looked for a laptop what sort of things should I look for in buying a new laptop? And what should I avoid??

What will you be using it for and is it your primary computer or do you a desktop PC for that?

When I use a laptop I am like many out there, just surfing the web etc etc. So for me I just got a ex lease Thinkpad, swapped in a SSD and 16GB RAM (8GB was prob enough but I went the max so I can use it longer). For a laptop, I would pick something more reliable like the pro range. HP Pro Book etc .. Lenovo Thinkpads. There is also size to think about. After having this Thinkpad T series, I kinda wishes I got the X. I did have 2 prior X before but thought I get something a bit larger, but I still prerfer something just portable even if it was just running around here at home and spending time in the warm lounge in the evenings :)

To me
(a) quality model of laptop (new or used).
(b) your preferable size?
(c) SSD and 8GB at least. I would not consider a normal HDD.
(d) speed wise that it fits your usage.
(e) any preferable for a better quality display, are you editing graphics?

mzee
22-06-2018, 07:57 PM