PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with Active@ backup.



mzee
20-05-2018, 09:55 PM
Today I needed to replace the MBR which was corrupt on a Windows 7 system. I had a backup made with Active@ when it was installed a couple of years ago. I wanted to avoid having to reinstall all the software etc. I couldn't install a dummy W7 to recreate the loader as there wasn't room on the drive. When I tried to restore the MBR from the backup image Active@ would not do it without restoring C drive. With Acronis & AOMEI it is possible to restore the MBR, and also do a Universal restore (from another machine).

Am I doing something wrong?

wainuitech
20-05-2018, 10:10 PM
Wouldn't try using a Image, you more than likely will have more success in rebuilding the MBR. Google Fix MBR Windows 7 theres quite a few article on how to do it :)

AOMEI Partition Assistant ( and bootable CD) has a Fix MBR option as well.

https://www.disk-partition.com/gpt-mbr/repair-corrupted-mbr-1004.html

mzee
21-05-2018, 07:12 PM
Wouldn't try using a Image, you more than likely will have more success in rebuilding the MBR. Google Fix MBR Windows 7 theres quite a few article on how to do it :)

AOMEI Partition Assistant ( and bootable CD) has a Fix MBR option as well.

https://www.disk-partition.com/gpt-mbr/repair-corrupted-mbr-1004.html

I downloaded AOMEI Partition Assistant and made a bootable USB stick, works a treat. I am lazy, I could have used the command console, but its easier this way.