PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card needed for old PC



bellbird
09-03-2018, 11:18 AM
Does anyone have an unwanted gaphics card suitable for the following: HP A1140, Windows XP sp3, 160GB Hard Drive, 512MB RAM, 256MB nVidia GE Force 6200 Turbo Cache. I bought a new PC a few years ago after the graphics card died and I'd like to get back into my old PC and see what's still on it in the way of personal stuff. The graphics were too much of a mess to remove anything more than a few files. I'm not wanting to buy one at this time as I'm not sure of future use and buying a chromecast is top of my list but happy to pay for one to be couriered. Thanks

beama
09-03-2018, 11:26 AM
you could try here http://www.ecocentral.co.nz/services/ecoshop

Jen
09-03-2018, 07:24 PM
Is this your computer here (https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c04755753)? If so, it has onboard graphics so you could just remove the graphic card and see if it boots up using the onboard system.

Lawrence
09-03-2018, 08:02 PM
Was going to post this before https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-pavilion-a1140n-pentium-4-3ghz-1gb-ram-250gb-hdd-xp-media-center/specs/

But I thought it may be the Onboard Video thats out

Look like it has a card added,pull it and see what happens

bellbird
10-03-2018, 09:40 AM
Thanks for repies everyone. When I added 1GB of Ram I was able to find step by step instructions at HP and answers to my queries here on the forum but I see HP have removed any info about this model. I'm an amateur so will have to look at youtube to get an idea of what a card looks like and how to remove it. If the onboard graphics is ok, what capabilities would it have? thanks

Lawrence
10-03-2018, 10:59 AM
If yours is like the one I posted a Link too would say it has onboard video(ie graphics on the motherboard) and due to it's age it would not be up to todays standard

If you want to add a video card which is dead easy is find out how many Watt's(may be only 250 watts) your power supply has as this dictates what card can be added

If it's 300 watts you can add a EVGA GeForce 210 as the power requirement is only 300 watt minimum power supply, even a EVGA GeForce 240 has a minimum of 300 watts

Have a HP the next generation to yours and this is what I have done to mine

https://www.evga.com/products/product.aspx?pn=01G-P3-1313-KR

bellbird
10-03-2018, 02:45 PM
I've removed the old graphics card. I've misunderstood about onboard graphics as I thought that after removing the Nvidia card there was another graphics inbuilt or something but there's no way to connect the monitor now that the Nvidia card is gone. Lawrence, The power supply says 'output 300w max'. Anyway lots of dust bunnies to clean up so I'll do that and maybe find a cheap card later on. Learning as I go.

Driftwood
10-03-2018, 04:50 PM
You are correct, if there is on-board graphics it will have another VGA port.
If there isn't, you will need a graphics card.
Are you sure its stuffed.
What its actually doing or not?

Lawrence
10-03-2018, 05:12 PM
Yep,your Desktop will have a serial port https://superuser.com/questions/1028168/is-serial-port-a-male-or-female you will need the cable and your Monitor should have a serial port

Your Video Card would have one of these http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/video-connectors-tutorial/10/

If your Monitor has a HDMI port get a card with this Port as it's the best way to go

You don't need a new card and if you know a Computer shop they may give you a older one to suit or get one on TM $35/40

dugimodo
10-03-2018, 06:40 PM
Serial ports have nothing to do with graphics, they are old school communications ports. I assume you were referring to this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VGA_connector which is to the right of the serial port in the picture you linked.

Anyway the specs for that model do seem to include onboard graphics as Lawrence has said so look carefully among all the other connectors, USB, Ethernet, etc and there should be some graphics connectors. According to this page https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c04755753 it's between the power connector and the USB ports and has both VGA and DVI options.

bellbird
12-03-2018, 10:45 AM
I found a pic for a later model which shows a connector next to the printer one, mine (HP Pavilion a1140a) doesn't have one https://evertek.com/viewpart.asp?auto=37396 To answer Driftwood's question, it would only boot in Safe mode, screen had lines and dots everywhere and pics look like water has been thrown over new paint, nothing was distinguishable, the print was readable. Anyway, I've manged to kill the operating system after a bright idea to reformat with no idea what I was doing. I have a disk labelled Recovery Tools and 2 labelled Restore made when computer was new but I don't know what they do. I don't have a Windows CD. I'll remove the hard drive and send it off to recycling. The Benq 17" LCD monitor which I bought with could be set up as a 2nd one on my other computer. Thanks for input everyone.