PDA

View Full Version : PC Operating Temps.



Bryan
20-09-2017, 05:42 PM
Twice this afternoon my desktop has turned its self off. Both times I was trying to convert a lengthy movie file from MKV to mp4. At present the operating temps at idle are CPU 63, M/B 62, HDD 35. I did not monitor the temps during the job so I have no idea what they were under a load. Do these temps appear acceptable?

Just checked again and CPU is 49, M/b 49 and HDD 35.

linw
20-09-2017, 06:19 PM
Those temps look OK but why don't you check when under load?

dugimodo
20-09-2017, 06:27 PM
63 at idle is not great, 49 is just ok. Mine is currently 24. As suggested do a load test.

Also what program are you using and does it use the CPU or GPU to do the work? because it's possible if the GPU is doing the heavy lifting that it could be what's overheating.

What CPU do you have?

Bryan
20-09-2017, 06:53 PM
Thanks for the replies. The CPU is AMD FX-4100. GPU is 2047mb Nvidia GeForce GT730(Asustek). Load testing I will do this evening. I do not know if the program (Icecream Media converter) uses CPU or GPU. I have no idea how to even go about checking.

I have a 500w Power supply and the present temps are CPU 19, M/B 42 and GPU 28. Seems obvious Icecream is not that cool!

The only reason I have used Icecream is that Handbrake had the Audio and Video out of sync.

Lawrence
20-09-2017, 07:16 PM
Use Icecream Media converter also and the LGA775 Q6700 gets up to 60c but don't think the motherboard gets anywhere near 60c

Only have 2 fans both PWM Noctua's ,1 CPU ,1 Rear Case

Bryan
20-09-2017, 07:24 PM
I have just tried Vdownloader just to convert. Readings are CPU 83 and M/B 85. Both in the red in no time, cancelled the job. The file is an Andre Rieu concert I had copied down from my DVD using MKV and wanted to convert it to mp4. I will just have to leave it as a .mkv file. Not a biggy as I own the DVD. Only reason with the PC conversion is that my Sony TV does not recognise mkv files.

Bryan
20-09-2017, 08:13 PM
Question: My system has a quad core setup. If I reduced to dual core, would there be a difference in the temps when under a rendering load?

Lawrence
20-09-2017, 08:35 PM
Look like your CPU should not go above 60c ish

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/ok-temps-for-fx-4100-overclocking-guides-for-am3.166178/

Better cooling would be the option to look at

Bryan
20-09-2017, 08:45 PM
Thanks for that Lawrence, I just have to be more aware from now on.

dugimodo
20-09-2017, 10:29 PM
I would suggest your CPU cooler needs some attention, maybe it's not attached properly, or the heatsink paste has an issue, or it's just inadequate.
When working correctly a PC can run at 100% load without any issue. It might be worth removing it, cleaning up both surfaces, and applying some new paste. Check youtube for a guide if you need it.

Bryan
21-09-2017, 07:06 AM
Thank you Dugi. I am running the job on an older lower spec'ed desktop at present with no issues. I will give my main desktop a thorough clean today and see if that works then go to thermal paste replacement if it doesn't.

Bryan
21-09-2017, 08:24 AM
I removed the heatsink fan. Dust had compacted under it. Cleaned the heat sink and the fan. Reinstalled it all after a good house-cleaning inside the case. Reran the offending job. CPU constant at 47 and m/b at 57.

I'm now a happy chappy. Many thanks for the support from you all.

linw
21-09-2017, 08:32 AM
Good result. Computers are even worse than houses as they suck the dust in!

Lawrence
21-09-2017, 08:54 AM
Surprising how much dust gets stuck to the Heat Sink and also stuck on the underside of the Fan Blades

Bryan
21-09-2017, 09:26 AM
Lawrence, with Icecream have you had out of sync Audio/video files, can it be corrected?

Lawrence
21-09-2017, 09:59 AM
Lawrence, with Icecream have you had out of sync Audio/video files, can it be corrected?

Don't think I have been able to correct out of sync media with anything,the other I use is Freemake video converter but Icecream Media Converter is the one I mainly use

KarameaDave
21-09-2017, 10:22 AM
Lawrence, with Icecream have you had out of sync Audio/video files, can it be corrected?
Don't know about icecream but maybe this article using Avidemux will help?
https://www.hecticgeek.com/2013/02/fix-audio-video-sync-save-permanently-avidemux/

apsattv
22-09-2017, 02:01 AM
For future reference
You can use heavyload to stress the cpu to the maximum

https://www.jam-software.com/heavyload/

and run
CPUID HWMonitor
https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

to see what the temps are doing.

kioti
05-10-2017, 06:38 AM
Bryan...Blue Ray DVD players will play .h264, mkv mp4 and loads more ... if you have a BR Player... I use a few different converters but a good free one is Freemake and here is a link to it http://www.freemake.com/downloads/
Well..it used to be free and still is but now unless you pay a $10 yearly fee it will add a splash screen at the start and end of the conversion that just shows the Freemake Logo.... no great problem :D ( and if ya don't want that there well you can further use Freemake to edit/cut it from the created mp4 file... only that takes creating a complete new vid file of the edited version...another hour or so of remaking the video just to remove a short Freemake Logo splash screen :D )

As for fixing out of sync Audio/Video files..you can do that using a app called MKVToolNix. It is free to get and use and does a fast remux of audio/vid. Makes .mkv file but you can use Freemake to make mp4 from the mkv vid.

https://mkvtoolnix.download/downloads.html

https://www.fosshub.com/MKVToolNix.html