PDA

View Full Version : Which LAN driver?



Chikara
06-08-2017, 02:08 AM
Hi,

I was checking my motherboards support page for any updated drivers, and I noticed under LAN there are two different drivers:
https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards/MAXIMUS-VIII-HERO/HelpDesk_Download/ (https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards/MAXIMUS-VIII-HERO/HelpDesk_Download/http://)

This is for a Win 10 64 bit system.

One says "Intel LAN Driver" and was just recently updated last month
The other is "Intel(R) Gigabit Ethernet Driver" and is an older file from 2015, which I think is the driver I have already.

At first I thought to download the updated version, but I noticed the file sizes are very different - so I am not sure if the Intel LAN driver is an updated version or if these are two different drivers.

Which one should I use??

pctek
06-08-2017, 08:04 AM
The newest.

linw
06-08-2017, 12:23 PM
Or, if your system is running fine, neither.

Chikara
06-08-2017, 03:45 PM
Thanks. I don't really have any system stability problems, but my internet speed is consistently not as fast as it used to be. So I will try this and see if it makes any difference.

1101
07-08-2017, 08:54 AM
Thanks. I don't really have any system stability problems, but my internet speed is consistently not as fast as it used to be. So I will try this and see if it makes any difference.

thats very unlikely to be a driver issue. Dont waste your time, look elsewhere for the issue

It could be bad lines from all the rain in the last few months. My internet goes bad every other year , it was allways a line issue.

Log into the router & look at the connect speed. Can you hear any noise or static on the landline ? assuming its not fibre .

Chikara
07-08-2017, 02:26 PM
Hi, I am actually overseas and yes I am on fibre. I am 99% sure this is a ISP problem as when I do a speedtest, local server gives the full speed as per my plan, but overseas servers are much much lower. Which partially is to be expected, but it's become much lower than it always used to be. And I think it started after they did some line maintenance in the area.
I have logged a ticket with my ISP but they asked if I have latest firmware on router, and drivers and updates on PC installed, so by installing this update at least I can tell them yes.