PDA

View Full Version : Laptop shuts down every 30 mins



135freezing
11-06-2017, 03:07 AM
Hi there guys,
i bought a new cpu for my laptop and it doesn"t work very well...
it shuts down my laptop every 30 minutes..
i tried everything and also checked all there was to check. No heating problems, no drivers issues, tested the processor out, checked and changed the thermal paste 3 times, chcecked if my laptop supports the cpu (acutally my moterboard is sandy bridge and the cpu ivy...i found on a website that it shouldnt be a problem...the cpu is i3-3210M and i got a HM70 motherboard, and it actually works perfectly except the unexpected shutdown every 29:40-30:00 mins) and i tried to fresh install windows (i fresh installed windows with the new CPU), and also i tested my pc with antivirus and malwarebytes like 4 times and i got no reports.
I dont actually know what the main problem is but i think it might be in device manager the IRQ (Interrupt ReQuest) column.
I made a research about it and tried this solution that is posted everywhere:
Click on START, click on CONTROL PANEL.
If present, click on Performance and Maintenance (category view).
Click on System.
Click on the Hardware tab.
Click the DEVICE MANAGER button.
Right click on the device in the list (see above), and then select properties.
Click the Resources tab.
Remove the tick from the Use automatic settings option.
Select a non-conflicting configuration from the pull down box.
Click OK
i actually cant bcs my tick from the Use automatic settings option is greyed out so i cant actually change it...
Please guys help me...i would really appreciate it.
Thanks.

KarameaDave
11-06-2017, 11:06 AM
H70 chipset is locked by Intel to only support Celeron and Pentium processors
As far as I can find out there is no way to circumvent this so you need to either re-install
your original processor or get a M/B with a H77 chipset.
These may clarify:
https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/intel-chipset-with-limited-locked-cpu-support.2374689/
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/HM70_Express.html

135freezing
11-06-2017, 07:45 PM
H70 chipset is locked by Intel to only support Celeron and Pentium processors
As far as I can find out there is no way to circumvent this so you need to either re-install
your original processor or get a M/B with a H77 chipset.
These may clarify:
https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/intel-chipset-with-limited-locked-cpu-support.2374689/
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/HM70_Express.html
Well..I've got a HP 650 laptop and I checked this page out before upgrading http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-HP/650.html
...now I am really confused

KarameaDave
11-06-2017, 09:40 PM
Well..I've got a HP 650 laptop and I checked this page out before upgrading http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-HP/650.html
...now I am really confused
This is copied from the page you linked
"HP 650 notebook with Celeron and Pentium processors uses HM70 Express chipset, and the version with Core i3/i5 CPUs has HM75 Express chipset."

So what are you confused about? It seems clear enough to me!

135freezing
11-06-2017, 09:49 PM
This is copied from the page you linked
"HP 650 notebook with Celeron and Pentium processors uses HM70 Express chipset, and the version with Core i3/i5 CPUs has HM75 Express chipset."

So what are you confused about? It seems clear enough to me!

Oh, you're right
My apologies
So there is nothing to do with it...:/

KarameaDave
12-06-2017, 11:19 AM
Oh, you're right
My apologies
So there is nothing to do with it...:/

I don't think there is anything you can do to bypass this, unfortunately.