PDA

View Full Version : Orcon UFB with TP-Link Archer C7 router



drdo2little
17-05-2017, 10:56 PM
Hiya. I've been having some problems with the orcon provided router, mostly to do with range in our fairly small apartment, and decided to upgrade to a router with better range.
I bought the TP-LINK Archer C7, but I'm having some issues getting it to connect to the internet, and I'm going round in circles on different forums.

Is there anyone that knows

1. Do I need to keep the original router to connect to the optical network terminal? I would like to get rid of this if I can
2. If the Archer C7 can communicate directly with the optical network terminal, which settings do I need to use?

Would appreciate your help

Thanks

wainuitech
18-05-2017, 10:34 AM
The Archer C7 should work, just need to change the settings.

I'm on vodafones FibreX Max, that's basically mimicking UFB, but faster. :)

Once I located the actual settings to change, its working, You can try these and see if it works with orcon.

From the main menu, on the left click on Network - Wan - Top/Center of page,WAN Connection Type,Tell it to detect, it should pick up what you have, Tick Use These DNS Servers, Put in Orcons DNS servers, ( these are listed on Orcons site) Preferred DNS Server: 121.98.0.1 Alternate DNS Server: 121.98.0.2

Save it, next, go to IPTV (this was the "Gotya" Moment) :) Make sure VLAN TAG for Internet Service: is enabled, and the number is 10 Then the real "Gotya" Bottom of page,where it says LAN1-4 Mode change to Internet. Save -- That's all I did to get it working. (orcon may need some other settings changed - maybe Chilling Silence or some other member can advise)

8052

Chilling_Silence
18-05-2017, 01:20 PM
Yeah most ISP's will default to using VLAN 10 on the WAN, but, you can ring them and ask for it to be an untagged circuit which gives you a truckload more options in terms of what you want to use. Also means you can use Gargoyle firmware on the C7 which I found to be significantly more reliable.

Wainuitech has posted a good screenshot showing how to make the C7 work with UFB that should allow you to get rid of the crappy one that Orcon provide. Keep in mind that the C7 though is limited to approx 160mbps of NAT throughput so it's only really suitable for 100/20 UFB plans, if you're on 200mbps or Gig UFB, you'll likely want to get yourself something like a Ubiquiti ER-X and then just use the Archer C7 in a WiFi -> LAN bridge mode (Which can operate at significantly faster speeds than when it's NAT'ing).

wainuitech
18-05-2017, 01:25 PM
Chill, relating to the C7 on FibreX. Not to sure if Orcon needs any other settings to work.

Yeah a bit slow sometimes :p

8054

just jumped the Ditch to Sydney

8055

drdo2little
19-05-2017, 12:09 AM
Thanks so much guys, will have a play tomorrow and get back to you. Cheers

Chilling_Silence
19-05-2017, 03:33 PM
Chill, relating to the C7 on FibreX. Not to sure if Orcon needs any other settings to work.

Yeah a bit slow sometimes :p

They must have done some hardware NAT acceleration in newer firmware versions than I'd tested. Nifty :D

drdo2little
21-05-2017, 12:01 PM
Thanks so much for your help guys, working like a dream

Cheers

sgtlim77
08-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Hello wainuitech,

Which version of software running on Archer C7?

I am having issues with configuring vlan 10. it says it only allows to configure 16-4095.

thanks

wainuitech
09-07-2017, 05:01 PM
Hello wainuitech,

Which version of software running on Archer C7?

I am having issues with configuring vlan 10. it says it only allows to configure 16-4095.

thanks

Hello :)

Firmware Version: 3.14.1 Build 150302 Rel. 51815A
Model Archer Version C7 v2 00000000