PDA

View Full Version : Replacement Graphics in Water Cooled machine

DeSade
05-05-2017, 11:07 AM
I need to replace my dual 980Ti's with a single 1080Ti.

Currently I have a water cooling system that incorporates a waterblock for the two cards and I need to know what I have to do (and how) to reduce that to the single 1080Ti.

I am a Water-Cooling novice so please including everything pertinent.

wratterus
05-05-2017, 11:14 AM
If you are a watercooling novice....get someone else to do it. :2cents:

DeSade
05-05-2017, 11:20 AM
If you are a watercooling novice....get someone else to do it. :2cents:

You are right of course
But I do need to learn how to deal with a WC system if I ever want to be able to continue to upgrade my own machines.

wratterus
05-05-2017, 11:33 AM
Fair point. Basically - there should be a drain port on your build, you can power the pump up and pump all the liquid out of the system.

Then you'd need to remove the tubing from the cards - obviously covering the cards etc before doing this. I like using paper towels, and then covering any exposed tube ends up with a small bag and a rubber band, or glad wrap so it can't drip.

Then you'd install your new backplate and heatsink on your new card, install it, fill the system through the fill port, then leak test the system - again I'd cover the whole area around any fittings you've changed with paper towels and run the pump for a few hours. Once you're happy, then power the PC up and away you go.

That is extremely basic.....even installing the heatsink on the cards can be pretty complex.

Computer Lounge are the best guys in NZ to get you the necessary bits and pieces.

wratterus
05-05-2017, 11:52 AM
*that explanation is extremely basic I should say.

DeSade
05-05-2017, 12:28 PM
Fair point. Basically - there should be a drain port on your build, you can power the pump up and pump all the liquid out of the system.