PDA

View Full Version : DDR2 - AMD only RAM?



Nomad
11-11-2016, 04:29 PM
I have a old system that I still not, not for games obviously. Didn't pick up the free Win10 for this PC (did for the laptop) so I thought about picking up some RAM (2x2GB to go with the other 2x2GB). Websites like Aliepxress sell ram for half the price but they are AMD only. Is this the case? One camp say they are marketing and the other camp said they bought and it actually didn't work. Did such a RAM exist? One also said in China they strip off the RAM off a workstation computer because AMD are not that picky so it works on the AMD but not the Intel.


Thanks.

wainuitech
11-11-2016, 04:45 PM
Its mainly marketing.

Where it can make a difference is some computers, namely HP and some Dells wont take standard RAM they can be really fussy about what brands are installed.

Re the W10 -- if you wanted to try and have a COA relating to W7-8.1, as of a week ago you can still do a fresh install of W10 using a W7-8.1 licence key when prompted for the key even if the computer has never had W10 on it before. The in place "upgrade" option has gone though.

Nomad
12-11-2016, 11:24 AM
WT - cheers. Is there a thing with "high density" ram? They seem to be at least 1/2 the price compared to the ones they list for Intel.

Eg:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-8GB-2X-4GB-DDR2-800-MHZ-PC2-6400-240PIN-Desktop-memory-AMD-Motherboard-/152308944401?hash=item2376520e11:g:3p0AAOSwiLdWA66 U

wainuitech
12-11-2016, 11:43 AM
WT - cheers. Is there a thing with "high density" ram? They seem to be at least 1/2 the price compared to the ones they list for Intel.

Eg:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-8GB-2X-4GB-DDR2-800-MHZ-PC2-6400-240PIN-Desktop-memory-AMD-Motherboard-/152308944401?hash=item2376520e11:g:3p0AAOSwiLdWA66 U Its marketing. Have a read of the following http://www.ebay.com/gds/MythBUSTED-Density-FACTS-Low-Density-vs-High-Density-/10000000003939852/g.html

Its boils down to not all motherboards will take all types of RAM.

Lawrence
12-11-2016, 01:22 PM
Best to find out the make of your Motherboard then find out what Ram works,most boards old and new are picky in what Ram they can run

Chances are if a older board it won't run 8Gb only 4Gb max

Nomad
12-11-2016, 01:30 PM
Best to find out the make of your Motherboard then find out what Ram works,most boards old and new are picky in what Ram they can run

Chances are if a older board it won't run 8Gb only 4Gb max

Supports 4x4GB. May get the 2x2GB 20$ instead of 10$ to be safe. Would be a door stopper. Currently 2x2GB is low density double sided 16 chips.