PDA

View Full Version : Cumulatve Update problem



Driftwood
14-09-2016, 03:08 PM
Another large win10 update came through this morning.
Two desktop systems & a laptop done ok but my gaming system stuck at 45%

This is the Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 for x64-based Systems (KB3189866)

Ran the troubleshooter.
Three items fixed but "Potential Windows Update Database error detected" not fixed.

Still stuck on 45%

Any ideas?

gary67
14-09-2016, 03:10 PM
Both desktops at home been on 95℅ for ,5 hours

Driftwood
14-09-2016, 03:20 PM
I see some posts appearing on google now related to this.
No solutions, possible server overload was one suggestion.

wainuitech
14-09-2016, 04:26 PM
You could always try installing it manually, possible that its gotten corrupted in the software distribution folder

Direct link to X64 version 431MB http://download.windowsupdate.com/d/msdownload/update/software/secu/2016/09/windows10.0-kb3189866-x64_2c3e91a8162269579c8bf26a502c620d41efef0d.msu

Had 3 PC's do it install Here, no problems at all.

Driftwood
14-09-2016, 04:40 PM
Thanks I'll give that try.
I've got a delivery from Bakersfield to Denver waiting.

Speedy Gonzales
14-09-2016, 06:31 PM
A lot of people had the same prob inc me. Yup I downloaded it from the windows catalog site it installed

gary67
14-09-2016, 07:20 PM
Its done now but as usual our ADSL2 connection makes using the internet at all next to impossible when updates come in, simply because MS won't let us defer updates

linw
14-09-2016, 09:33 PM
Looks like I am going to have to download the update as 2 of 3 have stuck on the download.

Terry Porritt
14-09-2016, 10:27 PM
The 32 bit W10 updates downloaded and installed with no problems.

Lawrence
15-09-2016, 09:34 AM
Was wondering yesterday why the slow speeds till discovered it was patch Tuesday,stuck on 95% last night and still that this morning

Will leave to see how long it takes to install as have another too do

Has anyone with Cortana installed asked Why is KB3189866 stuck on 95% just for fun :waughh:

Driftwood
15-09-2016, 09:59 AM
Use wainui's link in post #4.
Comes straight through.

Lawrence
15-09-2016, 10:04 AM
Well aware of that just seeing how long it takes

bk T
15-09-2016, 11:30 AM
Windows 10 has become more like a toy for hobbyist rather than a tool/ workhorse platform.

mzee
15-09-2016, 12:01 PM
I can't understand why people are still wasting hours on a crappy OS when they get good results from W7 and W8.1 or even Linux.
I wasted a couple of months and a lot of Data on W10. I have now returned to W7 on all my computers, stable, no hassles and no driver problems. Maybe in a years time W10 will have matured enough to actually do some work. Microsoft say they are letting you have W10 free, like hell they are! They are using your brains and your Broadband, they should be paying you for your time and compensate you for the Broadband costs.

Cyberhuskey
15-09-2016, 05:01 PM
@wainuitech: Your link has solved my problem. Thank you.

Speedy Gonzales
15-09-2016, 05:02 PM
Why would I worry about the broadband cost it's unlimited

Driftwood
15-09-2016, 05:36 PM
I think it's the line filters clogging up.
Algae in the data.

wainuitech
15-09-2016, 05:44 PM
@wainuitech: Your link has solved my problem. Thank you. No worries, some other computers here (later in the day - earlier ones went fine) decided to stop part way through so I used the manual install and all was well after that :)

As a side note MS have been playing about with the delivery from update servers over the last week on other versions of Windows 10, maybe this had something to do with it. ( only a guess)


Microsoft say they are letting you have W10 free, like hell they are! They are using your brains and your Broadband, they should be paying you for your time and compensate you for the Broadband costs. Hate to tell you ( not really) :p but even if you are using W7 or 8.1 they are doing the same thing.

Neil F
16-09-2016, 12:40 PM
Hi Driftwood.

You could also try the Microsoft Community Forum which has various ideas.
It too, however, is full of members with the identical complaint that you suffer .

Lawrence
16-09-2016, 07:56 PM
Well I left it to see if it sorted itself out after stalling at 95%

Took about 30 hours before deciding to complete this afternoon without any intervention,will do the other comp manually as I won't be waiting 30 Hours if it also stalls at 95%

bk T
16-09-2016, 10:22 PM
I just finished a fresh install of Win10 on a laptop and it took less than 30 min to download and instaledl the update!

I am lucky, I think.

effie c
17-09-2016, 11:06 AM
Hi all,
Must be some fault in the large W10 update in Tuesday---
Facebook starts to open then suddenly shuts off and back to desktop
Did a "systems restore back prior to the update and everything works normally ;-)

came back to pooter after breaky, new updates again"ready to install", requiring restart- Facebook failed to start :-(
Does anyone know the specific update that is causing this and I will uninstall that

I can access Facebook by going to website, apparently, but nt from task bar icon, or listed apps ;-)

Effie c

wainuitech
17-09-2016, 11:44 AM
If you are referring to the facebook App, it may need reinstalling. To do that , click start, scroll to F and right click Facebook App - Uninstall. The go to the store ( sign in if not already) in search type facebook, select it/install, and it will reinstall fresh.

effie c
17-09-2016, 12:35 PM
Hi W T,

No success- same old same old--- I uninstalled, redownloaded as you advised- got to "launch" it started then it returned to desk top

Your logic is good but now what?

Effie c

wainuitech
17-09-2016, 12:38 PM
Hi W T,

No success- same old same old--- I uninstalled, redownloaded as you advised- got to "launch" it started then it returned to desk top

Your logic is good but now what?

Effie cTry opening a CMD as admin, sfc /scannow

effie c
17-09-2016, 01:12 PM
Hi,

scannow found nothing -- as I say I can access Facebook per website-- and a system Restore back to before these updates got everything working correctly-- then the up dates came in again and Facebook shuts down after a normal start
keep advice coming WT ----please?

Effie c

wainuitech
17-09-2016, 01:19 PM
Assuming ( and we all know what that means) :p You have it so FB signs in automatically, found one suggestion.


Go - CTL ALT DEL (pressing and holding all keys down until the task menu opens up)
Then select App History
Then double click Facebook which will open and immediately select something other than your newsfeed like Friends
It will not close down
Then go to the left upper corner and select the three little bars which will open the little menu
Select Settings and then go over to the right side of the screen and select Log Out
Log Out
Then reopen the Facebook App from the same place as Step one above (from the App History in the Task Manager
Your facebook will now operate normally even from the newsfeed. And you can then open from the regular Facebook app icon after these steps.

If not then try the reply from Stevphen http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/apps_windows_10-winapps/facebook-app-on-windows-10-crashes-immediately (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/apps_windows_10-winapps/facebook-app-on-windows-10-crashes-immediately/73eaa73e-6e46-4241-a2e1-59fe26243f96?page=12)

effie c
17-09-2016, 01:42 PM
Hi,

Nah ! ----- does exactly same thing starts, shows F in white square, then back to desk top
will try website suggestion
Effie c

effie c
17-09-2016, 01:50 PM
Hi again,

Right on W T see copy and paste below-- but I am not confident in being able to do it-- any ideas>Effie

con two registry keys and then change the DCOM premissions. Pretty easy to do.

FIX

Regedit Take Ownership

You will need to take ownership then set rights against two different keys. The keys are:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AppID\{9CA88EE3-ACB7-47c8-AFC4-AB702511C276}
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{D63B10C5-BB46-4990-A94F-E40B9D520160}
1.Open Regedit with Administrators privileges and navigate to the keys above (remember you have to do this twice) 1.WinKey + X >> Command Prompt (Admin) >> Type in Regedit

2.Right click the key >> permissions
3.Click advanced
4.At the top change the Owner to COMPUTERNAME\Administrators 1.Please note if you are domain joined you’ll have to change where you are searching from to your local computer

5.Look in the Permission Entries field 1.If the local system administrators group is listed ensure it has full control
2.if the administrators group is not listed add it and give it full control. (note you can only do this if you are a member of the administrators group and it is now the owner)

6.Click okay a lot >> Ensure you apply permissions to all child objects

Change DCOM Permissions

Need to ensure DCOM permissions are setup
1.Open DCOMCNFG as an Administrator 1.WinKey + X >> Command Prompt (Admin) >> Type in DCOMCNFG

2.Navigate to Component Services >> Computers >> My Computer >> DCOM Config
3.Find the RunTimeBroker >> Right Click >> Properties >> Security Tab
4.Launch and Activation Permissions >> Edit >> Add System and give it full control 1.I also added the Administrators group just for testing


While changing permissions I was prompted several times to remove bad account references. I did this as the computer knows which accounts have been removed.

Summary

At this point you should have sorted the DCOM errors. Give your computer

effie c
17-09-2016, 02:06 PM
Hi,

Nah ! ----- does exactly same thing starts, shows F in white square, then back to desk top
will try website suggestion
Effie c

effie c
17-09-2016, 02:07 PM
Hi

oops out of sequence
sorry'
effie c