PDA

View Full Version : New RAM



lakewoodlady
15-07-2016, 12:31 PM
Hello all,
I have got more RAM to put in my PC and am wondering which is the best slot to put it in. The two exisiting ones are 4GB ddr3 800 Mhz. The new stick is 8GB ddr3 1600 Mhz. Have attached pic of slots, (yes I know the fan is dusty, haven't blown it out yet)

7309

Thanks LL

dugimodo
15-07-2016, 12:42 PM
It probably doesn't matter but you need to check the manual really. Also with 3 RAM sticks they will not work in dual channel mode but you probably will gain more from the extra RAM than you'll lose from that. No Harm in trying it in each slot, if it works no need to move it.

So do your existing RAM sticks total 4GB or are they 4GB each? if it's only 4 you might be better off with just the new RAM.

lakewoodlady
15-07-2016, 12:52 PM
Thanks dugimodo, They are 4GB each. I will get another 8GB stick in a few weeks when I can afford it. Then I'll take out the smaller ones and just have the 8GB x 2 in there.
Maybe later on will get an SSD to run the OS on, as suggested by the guy at PB Tech.

Am hoping for a bit more grunt to speed things up a bit.

LL

wratterus
15-07-2016, 01:07 PM
Just slap the RAM in anywhere. Slot 2 is fine. :) You'll get much more real world improvement from an SSD than you will upgrading the RAM in this situation.

wratterus
15-07-2016, 01:57 PM
To be completely honest, if someone snuck an extra 8GB of RAM in there without you knowing, I doubt very much you would notice. 8GB is a good amount for 'normal' use, and at that point you wil get way more noticeable improvement from a SSD upgrade than you would from a RAM upgrade. :2cents:

linw
15-07-2016, 02:42 PM
Yep, definitely SSD first.

Bryan
15-07-2016, 03:49 PM
Check the manual and see if the MB will support more than 16G. My MB will only accept up to 16G so best check.

wratterus
15-07-2016, 04:01 PM
Z77 should all support 32GB of RAM.

lakewoodlady
15-07-2016, 07:17 PM
Z77 should all support 32GB of RAM.

Exactly what the guy from PB Tech told me, although it might be a bit of overkill. Yep, definitely considering an SSD. will have to most likely get a local tech to install and transfer stuff etc, when the time comes.

Cheers, LL

lakewoodlady
15-07-2016, 07:22 PM
To be completely honest, if someone snuck an extra 8GB of RAM in there without you knowing, I doubt very much you would notice. 8GB is a good amount for 'normal' use, and at that point you wil get way more noticeable improvement from a SSD upgrade than you would from a RAM upgrade. :2cents:

OOh yeah, I really did notice! All going tickety boo now!

LL

dugimodo
20-07-2016, 07:40 AM
Now that's some lazy spamming, copying a post from the same thread. Although you somehow managed to change it just enough to make less sense than I did.

lakewoodlady
20-07-2016, 06:49 PM
Now that's some lazy spamming, copying a post from the same thread. Although you somehow managed to change it just enough to make less sense than I did.

Yep, troll, I just ignored it.

LL