PDA

View Full Version : antivirus

glenbuc76
07-06-2016, 11:29 PM
Hi+, I'm looking for a good antivirus prog. what suggestions can you guys make.
I'm using Zone alarm & it doesn't impress me 1 bit.
thanks for any help.

pcuser42
08-06-2016, 12:03 AM
NOD32. :thumbs:

CliveM
08-06-2016, 09:18 AM
NOD32. :thumbs:

+1

stevenvanduyn
08-06-2016, 09:36 AM
+1

I have been using kaspersky and Bit defender for the last 14 years and they both great

autechre
08-06-2016, 09:37 AM
Paid: NOD32
Free: Avast

Bobh
08-06-2016, 11:51 AM
NOD32 for me.

Zippity
08-06-2016, 12:43 PM
Avast - the paid version :)

Speedy Gonzales
08-06-2016, 12:58 PM
I have been using kaspersky and Bit defender for the last 14 years and they both great

Hopefully theyre not running at the same time. Otherwise you'll be crawling or crashing. Altho, I wouldnt choose either of them

dugimodo
08-06-2016, 02:09 PM
Tried Kaspersky, Hated it. Slowed down web page access horribly on my PC. That was a couple years ago and I haven't used it again to know if it got better.

I'm possibly not the best example though. I use windows defender as my only full time protection and do occasional scans with malwarebytes and NOD32's free online scanner as a backup - as well as having an actual system image backup. Works for me and it's free but I'm not worried about the prospect of having to Nuke everything and start over.

Incidentally I sometimes go months without running Malwarebytes or NOD32's online tool - and rarely find anything more than a few cookies which don't really concern me. It used to flag up my lightcoin mining software when I was using it, I but gave that failed experiment up years ago as well so I just uninstalled that.

One of these days I might pay for anti-virus software, maybe. If I do it'll likely be NOD32.

08-06-2016, 03:17 PM
Paid: NOD32 : may not actually detect better than some free AV's, it certainly hasnt got a 100% detection , nothing has.