PDA

View Full Version : Belarc Advisor showing wrong operating system - why ??



Misty
06-06-2016, 12:17 PM
Our laptop has had Windows 10 for a while and it is definitely the one operating. Have just run Belarc Advisor to get info on my RAM and see that Belarc says that our operating system is Windows 8.1. How can this be and can I have faith in the other info it gives me !

nmercer
06-06-2016, 12:29 PM
it obviously hasn't bee updated to understand the Windows 10 version number.

I wouldn't lose sleep over it.

Speedy Gonzales
06-06-2016, 12:30 PM
Ask them. Did you install 8.5c? The latest version. Use speccy it'll tell you

Misty
06-06-2016, 12:40 PM
Thanks Speedy - when I went to run Belarc Advisor it had asked whether I wanted to update and I responded yes, so it downloaded the update. Apparently I now have version 8.4, though you mention 8.5c, which I have not been offered. Would that make a lot of difference ?

Speedy Gonzales
06-06-2016, 12:43 PM
It may. I dont use it tho. I use Speccy

Misty
06-06-2016, 12:52 PM
Thanks again Speedy - I will certainly look at Speccy. Had not realised up to now that it is an alternative program for much the same purpose.

Speedy Gonzales
06-06-2016, 01:00 PM
Yup its not bad, tells you everything as well the temp, the hardware, the OS, the updates . If you install it click on advanced. In case it installs chrome

Misty
06-06-2016, 01:21 PM
Will do that Speedy, especially as not a fan of Chrome.

Misty
11-06-2016, 10:14 AM
Have downloaded Speccy, Speedy, and it's very good. Quick process, both downloading and using ! :-D

Speedy Gonzales
11-06-2016, 03:38 PM
Sweet !

effie c
11-06-2016, 04:58 PM
Have downloaded Speccy, Speedy, and it's very good. Quick process, both downloading and using ! :-D

I too have just installed Speccy, and have a question My CPU is running at 32degrees, and the highest reading shows 35 degrees-- is that a bit high?
I am an enhusistic user of W 10 Pro, and in theory " if it ain't broke, don't fix it"--------0r should I?
effie c

gary67
11-06-2016, 04:59 PM
I too have just installed Speccy, and have a question My CPU is running at 32degrees, and the highest reading shows 35 degrees-- is that a bit high?
I am an wnrhusistic user of W 10 Pro, and in theory " if it ain't broke, don't fix it"
eddie c

Not even close to being hot

Speedy Gonzales
11-06-2016, 05:06 PM
When its red that when you worry. Mines 31 at the mo

effie c
11-06-2016, 05:36 PM
HI
oops I thought I had edited my typo psudionym

Glad to hear your comments- I had a suspicion that CPU operated below 30 degrees- so it ain't bad for an ancient pooter after all ;-)
Effie c

Lawrence
11-06-2016, 06:34 PM
When you know what CPU you have just find what temperature is critical for that chip

Summer when temps are higher and also running CPU intensive tasks will push it upward when this happens start looking at your cooling with better fans or fan speed controlling software