PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible???? iMac and Pc Desktop



mark1978
19-05-2016, 12:31 PM
Hi there, so I have a iMac late 2011 model 27 inch and a desktop pc stored away at present however would love to use it without having to put a extra screen on my desk.. Question. Would it possible to access the Windows desktop pc from the Apple iMac? If so...how?? Thanks all in advance

psycik
19-05-2016, 01:41 PM
Check it teamviewer has both windows and mac clients - can do it that way.

Or turn on remote desktop on the windows system and see if there's a remote desktop client.

As long as they're both on the network you should be able to use both.

mark1978
19-05-2016, 02:25 PM
Will give it a go!! thanks :)

wratterus
19-05-2016, 02:48 PM
Remote desktop will definitely work, I've set that up a few times. Think you'll need to use the IP address of the windows box rather than the name.

https://itunes.apple.com/nz/app/microsoft-remote-desktop/id715768417?mt=12

Geek4414
19-05-2016, 05:50 PM
Remote Desktop on Windows is normally only available in in Pro version of Windows, not in the Home editions.

https://www.raymond.cc/blog/enable-remote-desktop-connection-in-windows-7-home-premium/

Probably easier to try VNC, it is totally cross platform, small and pretty easy to set up ...

https://www.realvnc.com/download/vnc/

Unlike TeamViewer, it does not require the internet to establish the connection, just all happens within your LAN

bevy121
19-05-2016, 07:25 PM
actually, TeamViewer can in fact be used on your lan without connecting thru the internet at all...

https://www.teamviewer.com/en/help/40-can-teamviewer-be-used-within-a-local-network-lan-only

mark1978
20-05-2016, 08:34 AM
thanks all!!

Geek4414
20-05-2016, 11:35 AM
actually, TeamViewer can in fact be used on your lan without connecting thru the internet at all...

https://www.teamviewer.com/en/help/40-can-teamviewer-be-used-within-a-local-network-lan-only

That's good to know! :)