PDA

View Full Version : How can I refresh daughter's W10 laptop?

BBCmicro
10-02-2016, 10:03 AM
email from her:

"Laptop not going so well, very slow on startup, battery ran totally dead even though i out it into sleep mode - used to hibernate my old one all the time and it would hold charge in hibernation mode so there mudt be something running in the background? Maybe the mcafee antivirus? Anyway i think its not right, ive written this whole message in my ipad waiting for it to open up chrome or anu application."

The laptop is HP PAV x360 Convert 11-k133TU bought from DSE last month. Last one in store, shop model. It took 6 hrs to reset! It has 4GB ram but only a Celeron. USB2 and USB3 ports I think

If it were a desktop I would re-install Windows but I have no experience with laptops. I'm a bit wary of MBs designed for specific peripherals eg HP's touch screen.

Is it a matter of searching the internet for drivers as per desktop? I would also need to find the W10 licence code

Or is there something else I could do? We will be seeing her in 2 weeks

Speedy Gonzales
10-02-2016, 10:15 AM
Get rid of Mcafee it's crap. Could be something in startup as well. Altho Cellys aren't the fastest things on the planet

Altho if it's HP, it's probably got bloatware like Toshiba and Acer etc. That'll slow things down

If I brought a branded system I would format it. To get rid of the junk that I dont need

KarameaDave
10-02-2016, 10:25 AM
A quick guide to Win 10 refresh

http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2871133/reset-refresh-windows.html

Hibernation and sleep are not the same, hibernating stores the current session on the HDD
sleep stores it in RAM, this means that sleep will use some power to maintain, whereas hibernation does not.

BBCmicro
10-02-2016, 12:01 PM
Reading your link Karamea it sounds like all Reset options preserve the apps that came with the computer originally ie the bloatware.

Question: If I choose the "remove everything" option, does that re-format C:?