PDA

View Full Version : VDSL Speed increase?



Zippity
27-11-2015, 01:15 PM
I have VDSL broadband with Vodafone.

Today I ran a speed test which displayed dramatic increases.

Is this something I can expect to continue?

6839

dugimodo
27-11-2015, 01:40 PM
Be nice if it did, unlikely though. It'll probably just stabilise at whatever level.
I don't recall the time frame but I believe chorus are changing the VDSL profile we use here to match the more common one used overseas. There are small differences in frequency bands. Maybe that explains the sudden Jump. Must recheck mine at home.

wratterus
27-11-2015, 01:57 PM
30Mbit upload???? Wow....

effie c
27-11-2015, 02:08 PM
Hi zippity,


Not your ufsl but ---

I am with Spark, live in a retirement / rest home and when Spark put in a free router ( conditional on me being with them for a year ) I regularly got 13 mb/s then about two months ago I got and am getting 66.7 mb/s- I reported this to F1 and had a cynical reason why- not mentioning names - I just ran a speed test and it reads 60.8 mb/s. or 4.3 MB/s don't know about upload speed but enjoy '-)

The ufbb is running by but in no way am I going to complain on the above as I am still paying for copper connectin ;-)
It is NOT an illusion

Effie c

Agent_24
27-11-2015, 03:09 PM
Mine recently jumped up too, but it was about a week after I upgraded to a Draytek so that might have had something to do with it...
(Thanks John H!)

Zippity
27-11-2015, 04:07 PM
I haven't upgraded, changed or amended my accounts, nor have I "played" with my router.

The improvements just happened :)

dugimodo
27-11-2015, 04:10 PM
This is what I was referring to, No Idea if it's responsible but it is supposed to be a bit faster when implemented.

http://www.tcf.org.nz/content/576773bf-4406-4a4f-8796-f217148d3201.html

mzee
27-11-2015, 06:03 PM
Last Saturday the lightning cut out the Internet in our street. It was restored on Tuesday. The line speed has doubled so there must have been something wrong all along. Actual speed remains at an average of 16Mbps, but is much smoother.

Chilling_Silence
27-11-2015, 06:36 PM
Check your VDSL2 profile in use on your router. 8b is most commonly what the DSLAM's offer. 17a is also possible if you're close and have good line conditions.

dugimodo
27-11-2015, 07:19 PM
6842

Definately a little faster than last time, usually get 23-24

Chilling_Silence
02-12-2015, 02:47 PM
Speeds have *definitely* increased.
I usually get 19mbps with the highest ever being 25mbps. After an outage last night for all the people in my suburb and neighboring suburb, means I'm now getting 33mbps!

Friend up the road, almost always syncs at 29mbps, he's now on 53mbps!
Brother-in-law, usually on 50-52mbps down and 9mbps up is now getting 69mbps down and 26mbps up!! :O

So yeah, something's going on and speeds for VDSL2 are making a HUGE improvement!

wratterus
02-12-2015, 03:08 PM
Keeping a hopeful eye out here - getting 30/10 on a 8B profile currently.

gary67
02-12-2015, 06:14 PM
Hope it filters down to ADSL2 since that is all we can get

Chilling_Silence
03-12-2015, 08:42 AM
I've noticed it's not everywhere though, and they seem to be doing it like area-by-area.
I monitor a bunch of connections, and when this happened the other night it was all that were hanging off cabinets from the one regional exchange. The next suburb over didn't change.

Either way, I'm impressed, good job Chorus!

inphinity
03-12-2015, 04:18 PM
Chorus have been progressively changing the bandplan for VDSL2 on capable cabinets from the older 997 to the newer 998 for the last few months. It uses a different sent of frequencies, and removes the 10Mbps upstream 'limit' that was imposed on the old bandplan. The actual effect for most customers is an improvement in total available bandwidth, but how it's balanced (upstream, downstream) depends on a lot of factors - in some cases people are seeing reduced upstream but significantly increased downstream, in others people are seeing both increase.

dugimodo
03-12-2015, 08:08 PM
Hope it filters down to ADSL2 since that is all we can get
Sorry nope, this is a change specific to VDSL

chiefnz
03-12-2015, 08:59 PM
Yeah getting the same "unexpected" increase, I used to get about 23Mbps now I'm up to 43Mbps.... Might consider holding off on getting fibre for now as this new speed is doing me just nicely for now.

Zippity
03-12-2015, 10:45 PM
I understand that fibre is being offered at $10 a month cheaper than VDSL :(

Chilling_Silence
04-12-2015, 04:43 PM
Depends, it costs roughly the same for VDSL and 30/10 at a wholesale level... 100/20 costs a bit more though.

chiefnz
05-12-2015, 11:04 AM
The thing that hacks me off is that fibre will cost me the same as what I'm paying now for VDSL but the catch is the VDSL speeds I'm getting now are actually faster from a download perspective given this thread. If I moved to Fibre I'd go down to 30Mbps as opposed to the 43Mbps I'm getting now.

Of course I could pay the extra $10 for 100Mbps but I don't have a serious need for that just right now. Another pain in the butt is that I want to get rid of my landline in favour of VoIP but from a pricing perspective there is no real difference... I think it will cost me something stupid like a mere $5 less. The only real options I have is to ditch the Vodafone provided modem for something like a Draytek (or any other model that is not ISP locked) and then subscribe to a separate provider for VoIP. I'm not really keen to spend more money on a modem and that's only because I want something that has at least 4xGB ports, is VDSL/Fibre capable and has dual band wireless (a,b,g,n a and ac).

I continue to shop around at this point.

Chilling_Silence
06-12-2015, 01:00 AM
I'm yet to find an all-in-one that's VDSL and Dual-band WiFi that I'm moderately impressed with.

dugimodo
06-12-2015, 08:24 AM
I have this http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=MODTPL9980&name=TP-Link-TD-W9980-N600-Wireless-Dual-Band-Gigabit-V since june this year. It has been very stable so far and I'm pretty hard on routers. I can't comment on it's potential longevity but I'm very happy with the performance. Current uptime is 47 days, I think that's how long ago I bought my UPS and turned the router off to hook it up. Definitely blows away the technicolor freebie I had and matches the Asus that was my previous best experience (didn't do VDSL though). I picked this one for the best price vs features option, occurs to me I've been a bit stingy with network hardware, spend a fortune on PC's but not routers. If/when I go for fibre though I'm pretty tempted to get something that'll run gargoyle.

Chilling_Silence
07-12-2015, 07:38 AM
Better than the freebies, but I still managed to make the W9980 fall over after about an hour.
Definitely go something that runs Gargoyle, for UFB :)

dugimodo
07-12-2015, 09:40 AM
Maybe the secret to my stability with cheap routers is the cooler I made a few years back, I tend to forget about it but it makes a very noticeable effect to temperature. I used a 12V power supply from a previous dead router and made a wooden base to sit the router on with an 8cm case fan and grill blowing air up onto the bottom and 2 small rails to keep a small air gap underneath. One of these days I plan to redo it a bit better and use a 12CM fan, the design was inspired by laptop coolers. When I turn it off the router gets warm to the touch but normally isn't.

inphinity
07-12-2015, 09:55 AM
I'm yet to find an all-in-one that's VDSL and Dual-band WiFi that I'm moderately impressed with.

Tried the Asus DSL-AC68U? They're solid and fast in my experience.

Chilling_Silence
07-12-2015, 02:26 PM
Maybe the secret to my stability with cheap routers is the cooler I made a few years back, I tend to forget about it but it makes a very noticeable effect to temperature. I used a 12V power supply from a previous dead router and made a wooden base to sit the router on with an 8cm case fan and grill blowing air up onto the bottom and 2 small rails to keep a small air gap underneath. One of these days I plan to redo it a bit better and use a 12CM fan, the design was inspired by laptop coolers. When I turn it off the router gets warm to the touch but normally isn't.

100%
There's two routers that use identical hardware, I think it's a Netcomm NF8AC and another Innbox V51 router, I forget the exact model specifics. Anyways basically the Netcomm is fully enclosed and the Innbox router has a metric %@#$load of holes in the case. Better ventilation = lower temperature = more reliable.
I tested both over the course of 2-3 days. The Netcomm would die significantly faster on my network vs the V51.

Chilling_Silence
07-12-2015, 02:28 PM
Tried the Asus DSL-AC68U? They're solid and fast in my experience.

I can't say I have. I stopped with the Asus models about 24 months ago after their GUI started going crazy. Some of their old stuff was semi-decent but ran into two models that gave me grief and I couldn't be bothered ... That, and $400 for a router!?! No thankyou :(

Chilling_Silence
11-12-2015, 09:10 AM
Seeing as the Chorus brownout starts next Friday, and this is supposedly being finished in December, I'm guessing they must almost be completely finished.

Free speed, what's there not to love? :D

dugimodo
11-12-2015, 10:43 AM
There is a lesser work restriction starting monday so maybe they are already finished.
Nothing actually stopping them continuing if they want to though, it's a simple software change and doesn't seem to be causing any disruptions.

I basically have to take the brownout period off on leave because most of the work I do for them stops so I'm rather fond of it :)
(No I'm not employed by Chorus, but my company does contract to them)

wratterus
23-12-2015, 08:59 AM
Well sometime in the last 5 days our connection has gone from 30/10 to 44/8

Still on the 8B profile.

Tony
23-12-2015, 03:53 PM
Once again I'm not paying attention. I've just started a thread on exactly this topic. My speed has gone from about 21Mbps down ro 35Mbps down. I'm up in the Waitakeres, about 600m from the cabinet. No chance of UFB up here so I'm pleased to be in VDSL range, unlike most of the poor subscribers up around me.

Chilling_Silence
24-12-2015, 01:15 AM
No chance of UFB up here so I'm pleased to be in VDSL range, unlike most of the poor subscribers up around me.

Should contact your neighbours about doing WiFi to them for a few bucks a month, there's a good chance WiFi to you would be faster than even the ADSL many of them can get :D

Tony
24-12-2015, 07:59 AM
Should contact your neighbours about doing WiFi to them for a few bucks a month, there's a good chance WiFi to you would be faster than even the ADSL many of them can get :D

There have been some moves in that direction that I haven't been involved in, but it hasn't come to anything as yet.

Nikit07
29-12-2015, 08:23 PM
Whatttt those are some crazy speeds! I only get 30/10 with fiber!

apsattv
30-12-2015, 01:54 AM
Yeah basic fibre should be 50/20 minimum not this 30/10 nonsense which hardly encourages people to go better? than VDSL

CliveM
30-12-2015, 09:24 AM
I am getting 60/10 on VDSl now. Up from 40/9 about a month ago.

Tony
30-12-2015, 09:33 AM
I am getting 60/10 on VDSl now. Up from 40/9 about a month ago.

Have you got a cabinet right by your front gate?

CliveM
30-12-2015, 09:41 AM
Have you got a cabinet right by your front gate?

It is about 250mtrs away.

Tony
30-12-2015, 10:30 AM
It is about 250mtrs away.

I'm getting my 16ms/36.62/6.10 (just checked it) at about 600m distance.

dugimodo
30-12-2015, 12:05 PM
I'm at 30.1/9.7 @ 667 metres and as keen as I've been on fibre there's actually not much reason to change.

Tony
30-12-2015, 12:11 PM
I'm at 30.1/9.7 @ 667 metres and as keen as I've been on fibre there's actually not much reason to change.

Certainly in the same ballpark as me. I couldn't change even if I wanted to! No UFB in the Waitakeres in any current future plan.