PDA

View Full Version : System restore not working



27-12-2001, 01:15 PM
Hi Ive just bought an athlon 1600+ and when I run System Restore in Win Me I can select a restore point and click ok. When it gets halfway through the next screen getting data, it shuts down the computer,restarts and tells me no changes took place i hope someone can help

27-12-2001, 01:59 PM
Have you actually changed/installed/uninstalled anything since the restore point was created? If you manually created a restore point, and then a few days later you go and restore back to that point, no changes have been made, so it won't restore anything.

27-12-2001, 03:03 PM
Yes I have installed software but I have not uninstalled anything as of yet
Thanks for the prompt reply

28-12-2001, 11:18 AM
I have the same setup and have ended up disabling my system restore as it does not do a complete restoration, It also carrys back several problems and all files and folders.....including any ones you want to be rid of.
I now use roxio goback. Its a norton product available from most stores.I love this programme because it reverts your puter to exactly how it was before...all files etc gone. Very handy for those times when you play with something you know you shouldnt.