PDA

View Full Version : Toslhiba Portege R700



bk T
04-09-2015, 03:47 PM
Reinstalling Win7 to this old Toshiba notebook, everything works OK except the WLAN.

Tried all the drivers available in Toshiba (http://www.mytoshiba.co.nz/support/computers/portege/r700/pt310a-0lu011/download?os=24) site and none of them works.

Any suggestions?

Driftwood
04-09-2015, 03:53 PM
Is the WLAN showing up as a device?
Is it turned on?

bk T
04-09-2015, 04:10 PM
It doesn't show up in Device Manager. The Wireless light lights up in orange colour. Fn F8 has no effect. Couldn't locate any switch anyway.

Alex B
04-09-2015, 04:26 PM
Do any of the function keys work? Do you have the driver/software installed that enables the function keys?

Driftwood
04-09-2015, 04:35 PM
Was the WLAN working before?
You could boot from a linux cd.
If that finds it, then you will know.

bk T
04-09-2015, 04:48 PM
It was working before the reinstall.

wainuitech
04-09-2015, 05:54 PM
Try this see if it helps -- Go into the Control Panel, network and sharing - On left look to see if Wireless adaptor Setting ( similar wording) is there, if it is, open it, assuming the Wireless adaptor is showing then right click it, and either enable or disable, ( change what ever it says to the other) basically turn it off then on again. Sometimes they get "stuck".

Kame
04-09-2015, 06:54 PM
Any chance you know what the wireless card is?

Would probably try the manufacturers site for the drivers. Is it 64bit or 32bit Windows? Is it the Toshiba supplied version or your own copy? Would see if Toshiba offer their OEM one for it.

Check that its enabled in your BIOS. The orange light is suggesting its turned off, it could also be another combination of function + key to turn it on, so maybe try them all till you get a blue light.

Another thing is if the wireless was disabled before the reinstall, it could be hardware locked not software, a Linux Live CD could confirm this.

Cheers,

KK

bk T
04-09-2015, 09:39 PM
Thanks, guy, got it working now.

It's the 'stupid' Toshiba Value Added Package causing the problem. Uninstalled it and then reinstalled it, after that installed the Intel WLAN.

It was suggested in one of the forums.