PDA

View Full Version : did i get screwed on this gaming pc build ? please help

monker453
15-08-2015, 05:58 AM
Hi let me start off by saying i am new with computers and my general knowledge of them is limited ,but the other day i decided to have a custom built gaming PC put together at a nearby PC shop since i had a nice chunk of disposable income and had been meaning to get one for a while.Anyway i went down and asked the guy working there if he could recommend a good build for my budget since i was not to sure about the build i wanted, i went with what he recommended since he said it should be more then enough for to play alot of the games i wanted to on higher settings skyrim,total war,fallout 3 etc (nothing to demanding) . When i brought it home plugged it all in and installed OS and the other drivers that came with it,I found this computer could not run these games any better then my old pavilion hp desktop, when i tried to play napoleon total war on high settings it got really hot and sounded like it was about to blast off ,same for the other games i tried playing (the ones i listed previously). I will admit i did jump the gun before buying and did not do alot of research before hand which i now regret. Is it possible i am not do something correctly or did i just make a bad call when i went with this build ?

here is the specs
gpu: geforce GT 740
cpu:AMD FX(tm)-6300 six - core processor
memory:8GB (RAM)
driver version:355.60
motherboard:ASUS M5A78L-M LX AM3+ 780GB/SB710 PCI EXPRESS
total cost was around $800

wainuitech
15-08-2015, 03:07 PM
Simple Answer NO, you didn't get screwed for the specs. In fact its a good price.

You have left out some important information.

What Case ??
What Power Supply ??

If you look at the prices from Acsent - with the items listed it comes to $764.00 So you need to add a Case, Power Supply, and labor.

A decent PSU will easily cost over between $150 -$200.+