PDA

View Full Version : Webcam not working



Roscoe
04-08-2015, 02:07 PM
Have resurrected my old laptop and went to use the built in webcam but I received an error message saying that it cannot find the webcam. What do I need to do to get it operating again?

Thanks for your help.

Speedy Gonzales
04-08-2015, 02:10 PM
What does it say under its properties in device manager? And what version of windows is on it

And what AV program (if any) is installed on it. Bitdefender / or Kaspersky I think it was used to block and stop webcams from working

Roscoe
04-08-2015, 02:49 PM
Thanks for your quick response, Speedy.

I can't find anything about a webcam in device manager.

Don't know what you mean by AV programme. Can you give me an example?

I don't know Bitdefender or Kaspersky. How would I know if they were installed on my laptop?

Speedy Gonzales
04-08-2015, 03:31 PM
Look in programs and features anti-virus / firewall programs

Roscoe
04-08-2015, 04:20 PM
No, I can't see that either of those two programmes are installed.

Lurking
04-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Like our old pcs', they had Logitech, which has been taken over by Skype. Pop-up ads a curse on this media to.

Roscoe
04-08-2015, 04:33 PM
Logitech is the name of the camera, if that's any help.

I meant to say before that I am running Vista Home Edition.

Lurking
04-08-2015, 06:04 PM
Presume you are talking video calls ?, we used to call our son in the North Island every Sunday through the old Logitech setup.

Had to join up with Skype, but everything is still the same except for those pop-ups.

XP here and wife is W7.

Speedy Gonzales
04-08-2015, 06:18 PM
Does it say its working in device manager? Or is there an error code?

Roscoe
04-08-2015, 09:13 PM
Does it say its working in device manager? Or is there an error code?

I can't see it in device manager.

I have tried to use it in Skype but it brings up an error message saying it can't find the webcam.

Ofthesea
04-08-2015, 10:42 PM
Plan B = buy a USB webcam.

Lurking
04-08-2015, 11:22 PM
http://ccm.net/faq/2829-hp-laptop-built-in-webcam-not-working#for-windows-vista-xp-users

Speedy Gonzales
05-08-2015, 10:37 AM
Run command prompt as admin type sfc /scannow. Wait for it to finish. Shut it down. Disconnect everything / the power , the battery for 30 mins

Looks like this can bring it back