PDA

View Full Version : Setting up an HG630b modem.



ianhnz
26-07-2015, 06:54 PM
[FONT=Arial][COLOR=#0000ff]Hi guys.

After my beloved humming and haring for over a year, she's finally conceded to us getting fiber.

Ya......

To help with this I have moved our broadband modem to be closer to the computer.

We have your latest and I'm told, State of the Art HG630b modem.

It is set up as it come out of the packet.

Speed wise I'm only getting about 75 Mbs on both computers and cellphone, on wifi.

I understood it should be a lot faster than that.

Since we've had the latest Telecom modem, I have tried heaps of channels and made sure my nearest aren't on the same.

We starting off with the 3o Mb's but will be going for the 100 after a while, so will need better speeds.

Can anyone please advise how I can up the speed?

Speedy Gonzales
26-07-2015, 07:14 PM
Info for it is here (http://www.spark.co.nz/help/internet-data/equipment/huawei/hg630b-gateway/)

ianhnz
26-07-2015, 07:35 PM
Info for it is here (http://www.spark.co.nz/help/internet-data/equipment/huawei/hg630b-gateway/)

Sorry, don't help.
Already read them...

Speedy Gonzales
26-07-2015, 07:48 PM
Well its an ISP prob then

decibel
26-07-2015, 08:42 PM
What speed do you get when you have an ethernet cable plugged in ?

ianhnz
26-07-2015, 09:59 PM
Well its an ISP prob then

I turned off the laptop and cellphone, both of which are only a month or so old and both rated N and speed dropped to 22 Mbps.
So I have no idea.

ianhnz
26-07-2015, 10:01 PM
What speed do you get when you have an ethernet cable plugged in ?

Yes been thinking I should do that, but getting late, for me.
I try that in the morning.
I connect ethernet to desktop, leave cell and laptop off and check speed.
I get back in morning.

wainuitech
26-07-2015, 11:25 PM
From memory, Spark have 3 Plan speeds, 30/100/200 Mbps.

They dont have one plan suits all. They have different data caps as well.

Depending on what plan you are on will depend on what the theoretical Max speed is you will get. If for example you were on the 100 then 100Mbps is the max you would get, like wise with 30Mbps.

wratterus
27-07-2015, 02:30 PM
As already said, you need to test with an Ethernet cable plugged in. Depending on the devices and wireless setup, often it is not possible to get anywhere close to 100Mbps over Wifi. (assuming you're actually on a 100mbps plan)

5GHz with a 40MHz channel width, or wireless AC will. 2.4GHz, assuming perfect conditions (Which in any urban area just don't exist) and the clients being MIMO you could get close, but in reality, you're likely to see a maximum real download speed of around 35Mbps on (for example) a cellphone connected to a 2.4GHz network.

wratterus
27-07-2015, 02:45 PM
Download WiFi analyzer on a phone/tablet and have a wander around the house - choose the cleanest channel. There are only 3 that you should use - 1, 6, or 11.