PDA

View Full Version : High Packet loss in Auckland university accommodation



Slankydudl
29-03-2015, 07:47 PM
Hey i'm using a apple airport express in bridge mode for a wireless connection, everything works fine except for getting anywhere between 4-70% packet loss. Any ideas on what could be causing this or how it could be solved, I don't believe it is on my end as I know many other people who are having the same problem

wainuitech
30-03-2015, 10:25 AM
You can try running a traceroute command that will show how long it is between hops / servers, and where a possible problem lays.

The following explains better http://www.howtogeek.com/134132/how-to-use-traceroute-to-identify-network-problems/

Slankydudl
30-03-2015, 12:15 PM
Traceroute has started…

traceroute to howtogeek.com (23.92.23.113), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 10.2.0.1 (10.2.0.1) 1.797 ms 2.236 ms 1.187 ms
2 br1-vlan400-ip.net.auckland.ac.nz (130.216.30.253) 5.216 ms 4.678 ms 3.984 ms
3 210.7.39.173 (210.7.39.173) 4.219 ms 4.798 ms 3.190 ms
4 210.7.39.248 (210.7.39.248) 2.326 ms 3.119 ms 2.913 ms
5 et-1-2-0-201.pe1.wnpa.akl.aarnet.net.au (182.255.119.202) 3.447 ms 3.384 ms 3.861 ms
6 et-0-1-0.200.pe1.tkpa.akl.aarnet.net.au (113.197.15.69) 3.946 ms 5.550 ms 3.736 ms
7 xe-1-0-0.bb1.a.lax.aarnet.net.au (202.158.194.173) 128.645 ms 128.834 ms 130.669 ms
8 xe-0-0-0-16.r05.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (204.1.253.165) 132.613 ms 130.588 ms *
9 * ae-5.r21.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.5.85) 130.860 ms 136.498 ms
10 ae-5.r22.asbnva02.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.3.54) 195.318 ms 205.321 ms 204.643 ms
11 * * *
12 ae-1.r06.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.149) 201.013 ms 198.958 ms *
13 ae-0.net-access.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.203.106) 214.135 ms 208.261 ms *
14 0.e1-4.tbr2.mmu.nac.net (209.123.10.77) 208.392 ms 209.325 ms 201.995 ms
15 207.99.53.46 (207.99.53.46) 205.147 ms * 456.348 ms
16 * * *
17 nb-23-92-23-113.newark.nodebalancer.linode.com (23.92.23.113) 378.477 ms 199.100 ms 204.452 ms

Chilling_Silence
30-03-2015, 01:17 PM
That doesn't really show the packet loss.
Grab WinMTR from winmtr.net and run that. That'll show it better, run 100 -> 120 iterations to get a good / accurate idea.

Now if you're getting packet loss over the WiFi bridge it may be there's not a strong enough signal? If you then connect to the WiFi there directly and run another 100 -> 120 iterations while on the Uni WiFi, post the results of that too.

Paste them in [ code ] tags in here so they format tidily too :)

wainuitech
30-03-2015, 01:53 PM
Just ran that program Chill suggested to the same site you tried, the results are exactly the same as the trace -- it all starts turning to custard at point 7 ( trace result) the ms jump from single digits to triple (same as the WinMTR result) and goes down hill from there.

Slankydudl
30-03-2015, 03:18 PM
If i remove the router and go straight to my PC i get a perfect connection with 100MB/s speeds but it is as soon as I try connecting through the router that it goes to custard..... I have used a few different routers and they all have the same problem.

Slankydudl
30-03-2015, 03:32 PM
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 10.2.0.1 - 23 | 172 | 134 | 0 | 6 | 41 | 23 |
| br1-vlan400-ip.net.auckland.ac.nz - 20 | 180 | 144 | 2 | 13 | 53 | 39 |
| 210.7.39.173 - 20 | 180 | 144 | 2 | 13 | 64 | 38 |
| 210.7.39.248 - 20 | 180 | 144 | 2 | 12 | 47 | 38 |
| et-1-2-0-201.pe1.wnpa.akl.aarnet.net.au - 20 | 180 | 144 | 2 | 13 | 57 | 38 |
| xe-1-2-1.pe1.msct.nsw.aarnet.net.au - 22 | 176 | 139 | 26 | 36 | 74 | 40 |
| ae5.pe1.rsby.nsw.aarnet.net.au - 22 | 176 | 139 | 25 | 37 | 70 | 43 |
| et-0-3-0.nsw-msct-bdr1.aarnet.net.au - 20 | 180 | 144 | 25 | 35 | 69 | 43 |
|gw1.xe-0-2-1.bdr1-msct-nsw.aarnet.net.au - 20 | 180 | 144 | 25 | 35 | 70 | 43 |
| 66.249.95.234 - 20 | 180 | 144 | 26 | 36 | 69 | 43 |
| 209.85.142.11 - 22 | 176 | 139 | 26 | 36 | 69 | 41 |
| syd10s01-in-f4.1e100.net - 22 | 176 | 139 | 25 | 36 | 70 | 41 |
|________________________________________________| ______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Alex B
30-03-2015, 03:36 PM
If you plug an ethernet cable into your airport express do you get the same issue?

Slankydudl
30-03-2015, 03:39 PM
Yeah I do, i'm going from the wall into the WAN port of the airport express then out from the LAN port to my PC and I get the exact same performance as using WiFi from the airport. Oh also I am not bridging a wireless signal as there is no wireless at all where I am staying the airport is plugged in via the WAN port (being used as LAN)

Alex B
30-03-2015, 03:48 PM
Can you turn off DHCP on the AirPort and plug the wall port into the ethernet port rather than the WAN port. Then try connect via wireless and see what happens. If you have the AirPort setup like I think, then you're double NATing the traffic which can cause issues like this.

Slankydudl
30-03-2015, 03:59 PM
double checked and DHCP is off and I am now using the LAN port