PDA

View Full Version : HP laptop locking up



GameJunkie
18-03-2015, 09:48 PM
Hi eveyone,



So my brother has been having some issues with his HP laptop recently.



Up until a week ago his 3 year old laptop had been functioning without any issue. 2 years ago the wifi card was replaced under warrenty but that's not the issue.



He used it on the 10th of March, but didnt use it again until the following evening.



It took forever to boot up into windows and began to freeze/lock up, but after a significant amount of time it seemed to function ok.



When it intially locked up, he had to force reset the laptop several times to get anywhere after the welcome text came up after typing in his password.



He then used it at uni on the thursday, where it was again slow and unresponsive, force closing it due to it freezing.



He tried using it 5 days later but the same issues persisted.



He's told me it asked to do scandisks/checks twice but nothing he recalls came up bad, he's not sure



Booting into safe mode with networking gets us into the desktop, but that's as far as we've got trying to figure out whats wrong



TL:DR



HP laptop was functioning fine for the past 3 years then decides it wants to take a dump



TIA

Speedy Gonzales
18-03-2015, 09:52 PM
Probably a stuffed hdd or it's corrupt or something. Remove it, put it in a desktop and test it with a WD or Seagate program, if its a WD or Seagate hdd

wainuitech
18-03-2015, 09:55 PM
Check the HDD for bad sectors -- download crystal Disk Info ( will run in safe mode) - Direct link CrystalDiskInfo5_6_2Shizuku.zip (http://sourceforge.jp/frs/redir.php?m=jaist&f=%2Fcrystaldiskinfo%2F58588%2FCrystalDiskInfo5_6_ 2Shizuku.zip) Unzip the files to a folder, double click on the Diskinfo exe will take a few seconds to run but it will show you the state of the HDD.

GameJunkie
18-03-2015, 10:03 PM
its a seagate hdd

we ran hdd tune software and it found 5 bad sectors
but i'll try that software WT

cheers

GameJunkie
18-03-2015, 10:23 PM
Check the HDD for bad sectors -- download crystal Disk Info ( will run in safe mode) - Direct link CrystalDiskInfo5_6_2Shizuku.zip (http://sourceforge.jp/frs/redir.php?m=jaist&f=%2Fcrystaldiskinfo%2F58588%2FCrystalDiskInfo5_6_ 2Shizuku.zip) Unzip the files to a folder, double click on the Diskinfo exe will take a few seconds to run but it will show you the state of the HDD.

it shows the health status as caution

reallocated sectors count has a yellow dot next to it, as does current pending sector count

running the HD tune pro trial says under reallocated sector count 11 retired sectors and that the drive has damaged sectors

under reallocated event count, it says 11 sector replacement operations
under current pending sector, there are 5 unstable sectors

Kame
18-03-2015, 11:09 PM
Drive is slowly but surely dying, backup and replace.

Sounds like and incorrect shutdown happened to require chkdsk.

Cheers,

KK

Alex B
19-03-2015, 01:19 PM
Yeap buy a new HDD, SSD if you can.

GameJunkie
19-03-2015, 04:09 PM
Yeap buy a new HDD, SSD if you can.


looking at replacement drives, i've come across this kingston model

http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=HDDKIN2322533&name=Kingston-SSDNow-V300-120GB-2.5-SATA3-7mm-Internal-

it says that its a 7mm model, is that the right size for a laptop??

Alex B
19-03-2015, 04:17 PM
Most of them have a drive caddy so it doesn't matter if you go 7mm or 9mm. I would go for a samsung or intel over kingston.

feersumendjinn
19-03-2015, 10:35 PM
That SSD may be a bit small at 120GB, what size is the HDD that's in it/failing, you'd probably need at least something approaching that.
You need to get your data off the HDD as soon as poss.
Do you have any OS installation media?

GameJunkie
22-03-2015, 09:07 AM
That SSD may be a bit small at 120GB, what size is the HDD that's in it/failing, you'd probably need at least something approaching that.
You need to get your data off the HDD as soon as poss.
Do you have any OS installation media?


We ended up going with a 120GB kingston SSD, the failing drive was a seagate 500GB, but he didn't/doesn't store a lot of stuff on there.

A small SSD is fine as he uses it for uni work, essays etc

Yeah, we had a Win7 disc lying around and just reused the product key on the underside of the laptop, and it activated without issue