PDA

View Full Version : Queer HDD problem



B.M.
28-02-2015, 03:03 PM
Ok guys I’ve got this HDD that has a problem.

It has become incognito for some reason and causes different problems on different computers.

At present I have it hooked to my computer all by itself but can’t get even to the CMOS Setup because the BIOS doesn’t recognise it and the computer locks up with this message I haven’t seen before.

“The Bios does not be installed. Press <g> to continue”.

Pressing <g> does nothing.

The HDD is a SATA Seagate Barracuta 750GB.

Suggestions appreciated.

6244

Zippity
28-02-2015, 03:05 PM
It is not Politically Correct to refer to your HDD as "Queer" :D

B.M.
28-02-2015, 04:03 PM
I've never pretended to be Politically Correct. :D

Speedy Gonzales
28-02-2015, 04:15 PM
Looks like you can get this error if the sata connector / or cable is faulty. Try another cable.

You may also get this error, if the hdd is SATA 3, and the PC you're installing it on, doesnt support it. Switch the jumper to SATA 150 if it's got it on the hdd

If this is the case

It maybe this. (http://blog.christosoft.de/2012/12/vt6421-sata-hardware-initiate-failed)

Whats it on in the BIOS?? IDE AHCI? Raid?

B.M.
01-03-2015, 10:45 AM
Thanks Speedy but it’s not the leads as it fails on different computers with different leads.

The computer it is on has on board SATA connections so we’re not operating through a card either.

I’ll try a Seagate Tools DOS disk test and see what happens but it is looking more and more like a HDD problem to me.

Speedy Gonzales
01-03-2015, 11:45 AM
Yup, but does that PC (with the pic you posted), support SATA 2, or 3 hard drives, with the onboard SATA ports??

That system sounds pretty old to me, and I doubt it would support SATA 2 or SATA 3 hdd's. If the hdd you've got is SATA 2, or 3. Unless you change the jumper on it

B.M.
01-03-2015, 12:35 PM
Good Point.

The HDD is a ST3750528AS

Firmware: HP34

If that helps?

Speedy Gonzales
01-03-2015, 12:40 PM
Ok the hdd is SATA 2 I think ( SATA 300). Whats the system you're trying to put it in?

Looks like the fw for that is up to CC49 (http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/213891en)

B.M.
01-03-2015, 01:05 PM
Ok, but how do you update the Firmware on a drive that the BIOS can’t see, no matter if it’s connected alone or with another drive?

The way I see it is unless we can get the BIOS to see the drive then all is lost. :confused:

Speedy Gonzales
01-03-2015, 01:14 PM
Do you know what the specs are of the pc you posted (the pic)?

Whats the brand/model of it?

pctek
01-03-2015, 02:38 PM
It has become incognito for some reason and causes different problems on different computers.


“The Bios does not be installed. Press <g> to continue”.


Cables. On other PC....could be the sata or the power cable.

Jumper on HDD in this one - 150m/s transfer jumper that is....then try it again/.

Agent_24
01-03-2015, 08:47 PM
Sounds like the hard drive has failed.

Maybe something related to the Seagate self-bricking firmware?

http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=23999&sid=d20f64df895616f6a11a792921393072&start=20

B.M.
02-03-2015, 07:50 AM
Sounds like the hard drive has failed.

Maybe something related to the Seagate self-bricking firmware?

http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=23999&sid=d20f64df895616f6a11a792921393072&start=20

Thanks for the link Agent.

Seems to be exactly the same symptoms and although I'm way out of my depth I'll follow through with some of the suggestions they make to see what happens.

My guess is a Brick. :groan:

Jonnie de Boer
04-03-2015, 09:15 AM
B.M. do you still have the HDD?

B.M.
04-03-2015, 12:35 PM
B.M. do you still have the HDD?

Sure do.

It has just got down the list a bit with other things getting preference. :)

Jonnie de Boer
05-03-2015, 01:35 PM
Hi B.M.

Ignore previous message :)

Cheers
Jonnie

Speedy Gonzales
05-03-2015, 03:23 PM
Did you change the jumper to see if that was the prob?