PDA

View Full Version : Video clips - how to shorten ? programme used?



R.M.
14-02-2015, 08:47 PM
I have a short (20sec) .avi clip, but would like to shorten it to 7.5 secs. I have 'been round the houses' trying to do this - all to no avail. :(

Suggestions about free (and safe) programmes I might do this with?
OS Windows 7 Prof - 64bit.

Ta again. :)

wainuitech
14-02-2015, 10:50 PM
Theres several programs to shorten.

windows movie maker

Virtual Dub

A real basic one is http://www.freevideocutter.com/ When clicking download, let it auto load the download, dont go clicking on anything else on the page.

Some advise, make sure what ever you use make sure you copy the original and have a backup just in case something goes wrong.

Lawrence
15-02-2015, 05:54 AM
Freemake Video Converter does Editing though have not used this feature https://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=2rWn5alvhz4

http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/

Just be careful installing avoiding the full installation as it add's other crap(check before clicking next) ,apart from the install it's does things pretty well

Bobh
15-02-2015, 08:34 AM
Giveaway of the Day - PowerDirector 12 LE is free till about 9pm tonight. This free version supports basic video editing.

HERE. (http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/powerdirector-12-le/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+giveawayoftheday%2Ffeed+%28Gi veaway+of+the+Day%29)

wainuitech
15-02-2015, 10:02 AM
Freemake Video Converter does Editing though have not used this feature https://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=2rWn5alvhz4

http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/

Just be careful installing avoiding the full installation as it add's other crap(check before clicking next) ,apart from the install it's does things pretty well Thats VERY true, its a sneaky installer, at least 3 custom setup windows need to be changed/selected at various times.

Lawrence
15-02-2015, 10:55 AM
Thats VERY true, its a sneaky installer, at least 3 custom setup windows need to be changed/selected at various times.

Have got unchecky installed and it deals with it :thumbs:

R.M.
15-02-2015, 11:25 AM
Just reporting back (many mishaps, including internet dropping out often - it never does that!), I downloaded PowerDirector and eventually found the Start button (can't believe I could be so stupid...).

Satisfactory result. I'm happy! :)
Thanks, as always.