PDA

View Full Version : Why does backup get slower



Misty
04-01-2015, 05:51 PM
Greetings
I backup by copying to external hard drives. Why is it that the first 50% is backed up quickly, whilst the remaining 50% of the process takes at least four times as long ??
Does it mean that I need to format my external hard drive, or at least defrag it ?
Jim

gary67
04-01-2015, 06:14 PM
I have the same problem but I backup over my home network

WarNox
04-01-2015, 11:20 PM
Copying one large file is a lot faster than 1000 small ones. Depending on the structure of the files/folders you're copying that could be causing it.

Also, what are you basing this judgement on, the graphical bar? The Windows one is not the most accurate thing in the world. Try installing Teracopy (http://www.freefilesync.org/) which would replace the Windows bar and also give you a few more options, or use Free File Sync (http://www.freefilesync.org/) for the whole operation. Either one will give you a better idea of what is going on.

gary67
05-01-2015, 06:42 AM
I use Active@ to create an image and the first 70% goes way faster and then it slows down. I'm talking network speed

Misty
05-01-2015, 04:02 PM
Copying one large file is a lot faster than 1000 small ones. Depending on the structure of the files/folders you're copying that could be causing it.

Also, what are you basing this judgement on, the graphical bar? The Windows one is not the most accurate thing in the world. Try installing Teracopy (http://www.freefilesync.org/) which would replace the Windows bar and also give you a few more options, or use Free File Sync (http://www.freefilesync.org/) for the whole operation. Either one will give you a better idea of what is going on.

Thanks Warnox - re not sure but it may be that it is processing the JPEG files first, then the RAW (which are just over 24 MP each) after. However I have been looking at the graphical bar and find that very suspect so the likely culprit. I will try the website and program you suggest.
Cheers, Jim

Agent_24
12-01-2015, 11:20 AM
Perhaps it is actually skipping files that it had already copied last time?

Misty
15-02-2015, 02:32 PM
Perhaps it is actually skipping files that it had already copied last time?Not in this case thanks Agent_24, this is a full backup direct from Photoshop Elements and not an incremental, which is another option that they have. Understand that incremental backups not as reliable, so always do a full backup.

1101
16-02-2015, 09:19 AM
Probably the progress bar/% done etc, is based on a time guesstimated by the backup process. When the back process actually takes far longer than the guesstimate, the progress bar has to slow
down . Same as when a copy via a File Manger takes '6 hours' then quickly drops to say '1 hour' ?