PDA

View Full Version : Replacing a 64mb ram with harming the 8mb graphic setup



19-12-2001, 04:52 PM
I was just wondering, when I brought my computer a year ago(a customize one), my compuer had 64mb ram but 8mb of out it was setup to always use on video graphics. So that leaves me with 56mb of ram to use, even if I'm not using video stuffs eg: games, or video clips. Recently I upgraded my ram to 192mb ram but with the 8mb setup I only have 184mb of ram. Snice my motherboard is pretty old, it only has two slots for computer rams. And was wondering is it alright to take out the old 64mb ram and replace it with a 128mb ram without harming the 8mb graphics setup?

My old computer ram is 64mb PC100 SDRAM and the upgraded one is 128mb PC133 SDRAM. The ram that is going to replace the 64mb ram will be another 128mb PC133 SDRAM.

Thanks alot, sorry if it was confusing.

19-12-2001, 05:26 PM
I don't see how replacing the ram would make any difference, as the ram is only a set of chips. How the ram is allocated and used is controlled be the software, so i doubt anything would change.

19-12-2001, 05:40 PM
Replacing the 64MB RAM chip with a 128MB chip will not cause any problems. Your video card will still use it's required 8MB. Bringing the total available RAM to 248MB.

19-12-2001, 05:44 PM
That setup option which gives the onboard video 8MB of RAM allocates 8MB of *whatever* memory is installed.

When you carefully plug in the new 128MB stick, there will be 256MB total, and (256 - 8) -- 248 MB available to the system.

No difficulty.

19-12-2001, 05:48 PM
It shouldn't make any difference to the 8b allocated to your on board video. Some motherboards with onboard VGA are a bit fussy when it comes to certain brands of RAM, but most are OK. When you remove the 64Mb DIMM, make sure you put the 128 Mb DIMM into the same expansion slot the 64 came out of. This will remove any possibilities of memory addressing issues. Run your computer for a while & see if it is as reliable as it has been before disposing of the 64Mb DIMM. If you start getting problems like lockups & application errors, re-insert the 64Mb DIMM. If no problems, then everything is A-OK.
You may be able to change the VGA memory allocation in your computers BIOS screen, but with 128Mb, it shouldn't be necessary unless you have memory hungry applications running all the time. Normally, 4Mb is sufficient to run a 800 x 600 screeen @ 16 Million colours when using standard office applications.

19-12-2001, 06:28 PM
Thanks alot, I'm really grateful.