PDA

View Full Version : vs_restrict_geo



lakewoodlady
25-10-2014, 08:50 PM
Hi, Why would I get the above error code when trying to view TVNZ on demand? My time zone and date and time are all correct.

LL

Agent_24
25-10-2014, 09:36 PM
Well, the time-zone setting on your machine has no bearing, they check by your IP address, and your IP address is being detected as outside of NZ I expect.

Are you in NZ, not using a proxy, and not running any browser plugins that may try to make it look like you are in other countries?

PPp
25-10-2014, 09:55 PM
You are not alone https://twitter.com/brettroberts/status/304868798517882880
https://www.facebook.com/TVNZOndemand/posts/10152075607768220 maybe helpful?

Agent_24
25-10-2014, 10:01 PM
Well, I can say that http://www.whatsmyip.org/more-info-about-you/ is disturbingly accurate.

lakewoodlady
26-10-2014, 08:11 AM
You are not alone https://twitter.com/brettroberts/status/304868798517882880
https://www.facebook.com/TVNZOndemand/posts/10152075607768220 maybe helpful?

Been there, done that, it just takes me back to the tvnz faq all the time. Not much help really.

LL

lakewoodlady
26-10-2014, 08:13 AM
Well, I can say that http://www.whatsmyip.org/more-info-about-you/ is disturbingly accurate.

I am using Slingshot's Global Mode, maybe that causing it?

LL

wainuitech
26-10-2014, 08:29 AM
Well, I can say that http://www.whatsmyip.org/more-info-about-you/ is disturbingly accurate. Hope that's a joke :) Just ran it, and its way off, not even close. ;)

Speedy Gonzales
26-10-2014, 08:42 AM
I would say thats why. Because of global mode

Agent_24
26-10-2014, 09:52 AM
Hope that's a joke :) Just ran it, and its way off, not even close. ;)
Not for me :horrified Map was accurate pretty much down to the suburb. Maybe it was just good luck on their part, but still creeped me out.


I would say thats why. Because of global mode
x2

lakewoodlady
26-10-2014, 12:16 PM
Not for me :horrified Map was accurate pretty much down to the suburb. Maybe it was just good luck on their part, but still creeped me out.


x2

I have turned off Global Mode and waited more than the 10 minutes required to disable it. Still cannot view TVNZ On Demand.

Might have to wait until Tuesday now to phone them, and maybe Slingshot as well.

LL

BBCmicro
26-10-2014, 04:55 PM
ran it, and its way off, not even close

It shows me at the Basin Reserve 4.5 km away (Vodafone cable)

wainuitech
26-10-2014, 05:08 PM
It shows me at the Basin Reserve 4.5 km away (Vodafone cable) :) Mine showed I was around Waterloo ( if using IE) using FF I'm in Waterloo Quay by the Wellington Railway station -- Well at least they got the first letter right W ;)

Speedy Gonzales
26-10-2014, 06:31 PM
It doesn't know where I am. If I dont allow it to know my location. It's still trying to locate me lol

lakewoodlady
26-10-2014, 07:20 PM
It doesn't know where I am. If I dont allow it to know my location. It's still trying to locate me lol

Hmmm..... I am in Auckland somewhere, even after showing my location as Taupo???

LL