PDA

View Full Version : NetComm moden



Cyberhuskey
09-09-2014, 11:41 AM
Hi.

I'm sitting in the library because I have no internet access at home at present time. Spark told me that I have to change the DNS. But I can't access the settings after typing in 192.168.1.1 in Firefox's browser and inserting the username and password "admin" (without "). The screen returns blank and asks again for username and password. What do I have to do? Is there an automatic blockage after you entered 3 or x-times the wrong username and password?

Help is truly appreciated. Many thanks.

CliveM
09-09-2014, 12:29 PM
If you are 100% certain you are entering the username and password correctly you could 1) do a factory reset on the modem and set it up again from scratch or 2) replace the modem and do the same.

Cyberhuskey
09-09-2014, 12:59 PM
... and if I'm not sure about the correctness of username and password? I'm sure it's the correct default setting but I'm not sure if I changed the default setting some time ago.

Speedy Gonzales
09-09-2014, 01:40 PM
Isn't it admin for username and password? And you sure they didn't meant change the DNS under your network adapter in windows, not in the modem/router?

CliveM
09-09-2014, 02:09 PM
... and if I'm not sure about the correctness of username and password? I'm sure it's the correct default setting but I'm not sure if I changed the default setting some time ago.

A Factory Reset would remove all doubt. Also take note of what Speedy said because that makes a lot of sense to me.

Speedy Gonzales
09-09-2014, 02:13 PM
I think they meant change the DNS server ip addresses under the network adapter to Google's (8.8.8.8 primary and 8.8.4.4 secondary). That's what a lot of people who were having DNS probs with Spark had to do to get back online

wainuitech
09-09-2014, 03:39 PM
You want to change the DNS on the PC as its been mentioned.

But if you wanted to get into the Router, Depending on the model will depend on the default user name & password.

Some of them are :

admin + admin
admin + password
"Blank" + admin (blank meaning no user name)
root + root

Cyberhuskey
09-09-2014, 03:44 PM
Where do I change DNS on PC?

Speedy Gonzales
09-09-2014, 04:01 PM
What version of windows is installed?

If it's Win7 or 8. Control panel / network and sharing center / change adapter settings. Select whatever (the LAN or wireless connection). Right mouse / properties. Then IPv4 . Down the bottom put in 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4. then OK

Chilling_Silence
10-09-2014, 10:35 AM
Sometimes they die and need you to log in immediately after booting.

Try this:
1) Pull out the phone cable from the router
2) Restart the router
3) Bring up the routers interface and log in
4) Profit

Cyberhuskey
10-09-2014, 11:49 AM
@ Speedy Gonzales: Suggestion works. Many thanks.

@ All: Many thanks for your help.

Speedy Gonzales
10-09-2014, 12:09 PM
Sweet ! Good to hear