PDA

View Full Version : Compatibility Issue with Asus R9 290 and P7P55D



hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Hey Guys,

My specs:
I7 860
Asus P7P55D Mobo running the latest bios I can find on their website (BIOS 2101)
PSU Enermax ELT620AWT 620 Watt ( I'm 99% sure this is enough) No hard drives plugged in atm.

Graphics card I was running is a 5850. I'm now trying to run a R9 290.

I get absolutely nothing when I put the card in, I have tried reseating, checked power cables and used different dvi and hdmi cables but still black screen.

I got to the point where I suspected the card was dead so picked up another one today but still no go. And I know this card works on other machines.

Can I rule out PSU? It never had any issues with the 5850 and I know that doesn't mean much but it should still be fine from what I've read.

Help!

Speedy Gonzales
07-08-2014, 07:17 PM
Did you when you updated the BIOS update Intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology Driver to v10.5.0.1026 too?? As it says on the site?

Did you uninstall the drivers for the 5850 before you removed it / installed the new one? Did you connect the PCI-E 6+8 pin connectors?? It looks like it needs them

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 07:24 PM
No I didnt install the rapid technology driver - will do that now...

The windows hard drive died on me so I chucked that and have pulled the card since then, I can still use the 5850 no probs though

Speedy Gonzales
07-08-2014, 07:25 PM
Ok but did you connect the PCI-E connectors from the PSU to the new one? It wont work if you dont

icow
07-08-2014, 07:36 PM
Does the GPU fan spin up when you power the computer on?

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 07:44 PM
PSU has the 8 + 6 pin required and it's plugged in. Fan spins no probs

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 07:46 PM
I'm wondering if you can use the ez flash to install an older bios, perhaps that would work? I know it can work as I've seen systems with those specs on other forums

Speedy Gonzales
07-08-2014, 07:47 PM
Try removing the battery for a min then put it back in then see what happens. If that works reconfigure the BIOS settings

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 07:57 PM
Have tried that now, still no good

Speedy Gonzales
07-08-2014, 08:09 PM
Tried another PCI-E slot? You would have to see something to use Ez flash, you have to get into the BIOS

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 08:16 PM
I can put the old card back in and boot up into bios so that's no biggy. Have tried the other pcie slot with no change.

Speedy Gonzales
07-08-2014, 08:22 PM
How much ram is in it? The new card is 4 GB right?

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 08:25 PM
How much ram is in it? The new card is 4 GB right?

Only 4 gb in this machine. And card is 4gb correct

hueybot3000
07-08-2014, 10:32 PM
So another hour or so of playing with it and Id had enough. In my rage I ordered a new cpu/mobo/ram combo which I'll pickup tomorrow.

Anyone interested in the cpu, mobo and gpus? I'll be keeping one R9 and probaly selling the other two.

pctek
08-08-2014, 04:50 PM
So another hour or so of playing with it and Id had enough. In my rage I ordered a new cpu/mobo/ram combo which I'll pickup tomorrow.
.

Rather extreme.

I would have:
1)Tests GPU in another PC
2)Tried another PSU with GPU

First.....

RA'ed the motherboard if it did turn pout to be that.

hueybot3000
09-08-2014, 12:15 AM
Rather extreme.

I would have:
1)Tests GPU in another PC
2)Tried another PSU with GPU

First.....

RA'ed the motherboard if it did turn pout to be that.

I like to be extreme.

Have tested gpu in another machine and it booted fine. Didn't try another PSU but that was highly unlikely. RMA is out of the question as my old mobo is pretty old...I picked up the cpu and mobo as soon as they first arrived in stock at CL a few years ago. In hindsight it wasn't a great decision cos they cost a fair bit and were very quickly discontinued to make way for the 1155 socket. Nevermind!

Setup the new gear today and card works fine on existing PSU. This is the first time I've been able to crank the settings in games since switching to eyefinity so pretty happy.