PDA

View Full Version : Possible infection?



Nick G
30-07-2014, 09:50 PM
Just booted my computer up and for some reason Microsoft Office won't open - setup runs, closes, and it says it can't validate my version of office. (It's office 2010, and has been installed on it for at least 18 months now.

Then, on reboot - now the wifi card isn't detected, and all aero themes are disabled.

It would appear the three are connected - possibly an infection? Any other things that could cause this that I should look at?

wainuitech
30-07-2014, 10:05 PM
First thought would that comes to mind is system corruption someplace.

What you can try is run system restore back to a time it was working correctly, could save hours of trying to fix. System restore doesn't remove any data.

1101
31-07-2014, 10:09 AM
Backup all your data 1st, just in case its a hard Drive starting to fail.

If a system restore doesnt help, try a repair of the office install (add remove often gives a repair option)

Nick G
31-07-2014, 11:01 AM
First thought would that comes to mind is system corruption someplace.

What you can try is run system restore back to a time it was working correctly, could save hours of trying to fix. System restore doesn't remove any data.

Ok, will try that. Hopefully that does the trick.



Backup all your data 1st, just in case its a hard Drive starting to fail.

If a system restore doesnt help, try a repair of the office install (add remove often gives a repair option)

Already backed up, so no worries about data loss.

Nick G
31-07-2014, 11:16 AM
System restore errors when I open it, the only option is to close it.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2014, 12:23 PM
What does the error say? Put teamviewer on it if you want. And I'll check it out

Nick G
31-07-2014, 01:51 PM
What does the error say? Put teamviewer on it if you want. And I'll check it out

Will take a picture of the error message when I can use my decent camera (Snipping tool won't open either). Teamviewer a no go, neither wifi or eithernet connections are working.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2014, 01:53 PM
Try in safe mode / networking. See if that gets you online

Nick G
31-07-2014, 03:09 PM
Try in safe mode / networking. See if that gets you online

Tried that last night, same issues.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2014, 03:26 PM
You may have to scan with one of these bootable AV Rescue cd isos then. See what it picks up

wainuitech
31-07-2014, 04:01 PM
Long shot -- Have you tried doing a chkdsk ? ( even safe mode with command prompt.)

You can also try running System restore from the Windows install DVD, sometimes it will run from that, even though it says it failed, its actually run and sometimes worked.

Just another thought -- if there is some sort of malware running, you can try downloading on a working computer then run http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/rkill/ (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/rkill/), if it detects and stops anything then try system restore.

Nick G
31-07-2014, 04:59 PM
Long shot -- Have you tried doing a chkdsk ? ( even safe mode with command prompt.)

You can also try running System restore from the Windows install DVD, sometimes it will run from that, even though it says it failed, its actually run and sometimes worked.

Just another thought -- if there is some sort of malware running, you can try downloading on a working computer then run http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/rkill/ (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/rkill/), if it detects and stops anything then try system restore.

No, haven't done a chkdsk - I'll do that, then run rkill and see what I get.

Nick G
31-07-2014, 05:18 PM
Well ran Rkill first, nothing found.

Snipping tool worked this time around - here's the error when trying to use system restore.
5874

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2014, 05:22 PM
See what the volume shadow copy service is on (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-system/0x80042302-on-system-restore/2d90d028-8291-4759-80c0-3cf00b2be59a)

And check if the SR system is on automatic

See if any other service/s are disabled. If there are any, tell us which ones

kahawai chaser
31-07-2014, 08:19 PM
If it is corrupted, suggests that you recently used/installed/uninstalled a program with a specific utility.

Nick G
31-07-2014, 09:03 PM
If it is corrupted, suggests that you recently used/installed/uninstalled a program with a specific utility.

I haven't either installed or uninstalled anything in a while. Only things I've downloaded recently on there as well have been excel files from Stats NZ.

Nick G
31-07-2014, 09:35 PM
Well I've found the problem.

No idea how it happened, but pretty much every start up process had been disabled. Including a bunch of Microsoft ones.

Enabled them and it's working fine now :)

kahawai chaser
31-07-2014, 09:57 PM
If the stats excel files are pre 2010, they may trigger validation queries (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2501584) (for security) with office 2010. What year or version are the files? Were they set to auto start up?