PDA

View Full Version : Can't open a new DVD



lostsoul62
08-07-2014, 08:36 AM
[I have 2 computers and one can't open a new DVD even after my 2nd computer open it by choosing DVD or Flash and I choose DVD and my 2nd computer which has a 24 DVD similar to my 1st computer. My first computer won't give me a choice, it just says can't open. What could be wrong?

Speedy Gonzales
08-07-2014, 08:53 AM
So whats on it?? Files or is it a movie?

lostsoul62
08-07-2014, 09:00 AM
It's blank, I'm trying to put something on it. I can put something on it with the 2nd computer but not the first computer. They both have Windows 7 and are of the same type of DVD but a little different, so I'm wondering if it's the DVD or Windows 7 or maybe I need the software for the DVD and they are both about 3 or 4 years old.

Speedy Gonzales
08-07-2014, 09:04 AM
Normally its better if you use a separate program for whatever. I've never liked the built in windows whatever you call it. And if it's rewritable I would get + or - blanks. Rewritables arent reliable

lostsoul62
08-07-2014, 09:08 AM
It's a DVD +R 16X120 and I agree with you I don't buy re writables. I don't even use DVD's but after more than a year I though I would write on one and now one of my computers won't let me.

Speedy Gonzales
08-07-2014, 09:13 AM
And what version of windows are on these?

lostsoul62
08-07-2014, 09:52 AM
And what version of windows are on these?

As I said in my 2nd post "Windows 7"

wainuitech
08-07-2014, 10:26 AM
Are you meaning the Auto Play wont open when putting in a Blank DVD or trying to open a Blank DVD ?

Example:

5826

If you put in a blank DVD and try to open it via explorer you cant, because theres nothing to open, you will only get the picture below:

5825

If you want to burn data or what ever to a DVD, it pays to use a third party program, as Speedy mentioned, the inbuilt one in windows isn't that fantastic.