PDA

View Full Version : Internet explorerer no longer in my programs??? Please help

angchick
07-07-2014, 03:39 PM
Hello, I am not good with computers at all. I opened up my laptop to get online and my internet explorer icon is missing from desktop along with my firefox icon. I decided to go into programs to find it and it is not showing up in programs either. Does anyone know how I can get it back in my programs. My friend walked me through to see if it was installed on my computer and we found the file folder for internet explorer but it is not in the programs so I have no idea what to do. Please help, I just want to use the internet again.

Thanks,
Angela

dugimodo
07-07-2014, 03:55 PM
What Version of windows ?

If you can find the folder it's installed in and find the executable you can right click on it and chose send to desktop - create shortcut and that'll replace the missing icon.
That may be enough if all that's haapened is the shorcuts are gone.

Do you have anti-virus and anti-malware software and if so which ones?. Might pay to run a full scan.
A system restore back to when it was working may work.

angchick
07-07-2014, 04:05 PM
Hello, I have windows 7 and from what I can tell I do not see the executable, all I see is iexplorer

angchick
07-07-2014, 04:09 PM
I am using malwarebytes free version

dugimodo
07-07-2014, 04:15 PM
Have you tried double clicking the iexplorer to see if it launches? if so that is the executable. Or it might just be the icon file. Try it and see.

angchick
07-07-2014, 04:17 PM
okay, when I click on it, it does open up the internet, but it still does not show in my programs menu, or on my desktop, or on my toolbar.

Speedy Gonzales
07-07-2014, 04:18 PM
Go to control panel / programs and features / turn windows features on or off. See if IE is ticked, if it isn't tick it.

angchick
07-07-2014, 04:20 PM