PDA

View Full Version : Hard drive recovered but not loading up



Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 10:16 AM
Hi

I bought a new harddrive and formatted the harddrive as a company was able to recover my 2.5TB of data.
So they did the recover asking me what Windows I'm using. I advised Windows 7.

After recovering the harddrive my PC the drive didn't pop up like it usually does for any other harddrive.
In Computer Management I saw to partitions and I right click and allocated the harddrive a letter but its asking me to format the harddrive.

Did I do something wrong?

If i formatted the harddrive and was able to access it before giving it for data recovery how come the harddrive says "unallocated" in computer management?

1101
30-06-2014, 11:02 AM
Hi

Did I do something wrong?


Yep. You posted a question in a way thats too hard to understand what you mean. ;)

seriously though...
Data recovery ?? why ?? was the hard drive faulty ?
USB Hard drive or internal hard drive ?

Is this a new drive that recovered data was copied onto ?

wainuitech
30-06-2014, 11:05 AM
Eh ?? :confused: :waughh: The way you wrote that its very confusing as if theres parts missing from the explanation.

When a drive is showing up as unallocated that means its not formatted. Formatting for all intense purposes wipes the data thats on the drive.

Is the drive thats showing unallocated, meant to be the drive the recovered data was recovered to ?

Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 11:11 AM
Eh ?? The way you wrote that its very confusing as if theres parts missing from the explanation.

When a drive is showing up as unallocated that means its not formatted. Formatting for all intense purposes wipes the data thats on the drive.

Is the drive thats showing unallocated, meant to be the drive the recovered data was recovered to ?

- I went to a data recovery specialist in Auckland. The old harddrive was dying but they manage to pull the data out and onto their server.

- I bought a new 3TB harddrive. I went home formatted the harddrive on Windows 7 and assigned a drive letter. Windows Explorer would pop up saying Drive Letter (P).

- I took the harddrive in to their shop so they could copy my data to the new harddrive.

- I went home using a USB 3.0 Docking Station and Windows 7 didn't react when I plugged it in.

- From Computer Management I could see the harddrive having two partion saying "Unallocated".

Is this normal?

Before giving him the harddrive I was able to access the harddrive by formatting . Upon return of the harddrive I could only see "unallocated" on the harddrive.

Speedy Gonzales
30-06-2014, 11:17 AM
Windows 7 I think needs USB 3 drivers to support USB 3. Did you install them? Are there any USB 3 drivers, on the mobo maker's site?

Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 11:22 AM
Yes I have usb 3 drivers and the port is working fine on another harddrive.
It's only this one which I've gotten back from the data recovery specialist that's currently having problems

Speedy Gonzales
30-06-2014, 11:27 AM
What if you connect this hdd to a SATA port then?

1101
30-06-2014, 11:29 AM
Windows 7 I think needs USB 3 drivers to support USB 3. Did you install them? Are there any USB 3 on the mobo maker's site?

Sort of . Not really.
A USB3 hard Drive will work In Win7 & WinXP regardless.

Try connecting the drive directly to the pc/laptop, NOT via a docking station.
If this is your recovered data, dont muck around if you still cant read the drive, take it back to the data recovery people & ask them to check it. DONT FORMAT IT .
Take your laptop with you (if it is a laptop you are using) .

Is the hard drive a USB Hard Drive ? Is it a branded USB hard drive or one assembled into a USB enclosure ?

wainuitech
30-06-2014, 11:29 AM
- I went to a data recovery specialist in Auckland. The old harddrive was dying but they manage to pull the data out and onto their server.

- I bought a new 3TB harddrive. I went home formatted the harddrive on Windows 7 and assigned a drive letter. Windows Explorer would pop up saying Drive Letter (P).

- I took the harddrive in to their shop so they could copy my data to the new harddrive.

- I went home using a USB 3.0 Docking Station and Windows 7 didn't react when I plugged it in.

- From Computer Management I could see the harddrive having two partion saying "Unallocated".

Is this normal?

Before giving him the harddrive I was able to access the harddrive by formatting . Upon return of the harddrive I could only see "unallocated" on the harddrive. That's better :D

Highlighted:

Its only "normal" if they partitioned it off like that. If you had access to the drive beforehand ( with no data on it) - First thought that comes to mind is they did a botch up job.

This is only a guess as to what they did ---- They "May" have tried to clone the original partition over to the new drive, this would give the result of having two partitions ( with a section as unallocated), especially if the original drive was smaller than the new one. "IF" they did this it hasn't worked, and they didn't check to make sure it had.

Personally I'd advise to take it back and get them to fix it.

If its only a data recovery, the drive should have been formatted ( as you did) , and any data recovered put into folders or copied to the drive. You then plug it in and you should see all the recovered data to do with what you want. If the drive was visible before you took it in, it should be now.

Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 11:41 AM
Sort of . Not really.
A USB3 hard Drive will work In Win7 & WinXP regardless.

Try connecting the drive directly to the pc/laptop, NOT via a docking station.
If this is your recovered data, dont muck around if you still cant read the drive, take it back to the data recovery people & ask them to check it. DONT FORMAT IT .
Take your laptop with you (if it is a laptop you are using) .

Is the hard drive a USB Hard Drive ? Is it a branded USB hard drive or one assembled into a USB enclosure ?


Sata harddrive 3.5" no enclosure.
I took them back but they advised it seems to be my fault.

Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 11:45 AM
That's better :D

Highlighted:

Its only "normal" if they partitioned it off like that. If you had access to the drive beforehand ( with no data on it) - First thought that comes to mind is they did a botch up job.

This is only a guess as to what they did ---- They "May" have tried to clone the original partition over to the new drive, this would give the result of having two partitions ( with a section as unallocated), especially if the original drive was smaller than the new one. "IF" they did this it hasn't worked, and they didn't check to make sure it had.

Personally I'd advise to take it back and get them to fix it.

If its only a data recovery, the drive should have been formatted ( as you did) , and any data recovered put into folders or copied to the drive. You then plug it in and you should see all the recovered data to do with what you want. If the drive was visible before you took it in, it should be now.

Perhaps they copy the hard drive by cloning.That would make sense if the drive says unallocated.
If it was cloned in a way that would make my drive appear "unallocated" i would just need to assign/ initiate the disk to get it back up and running right?

1101
30-06-2014, 11:53 AM
Dont name the company,
but was this a PC repair shop, or a data recovery specialist( ie data recovery is all they do)

Do they still have your data on their severs , can they copy it back for you?

did they sucessfully recover the data ??? perhaps the data recovery didnt work ?
Exactly what did they do, does it say in their invoice ?
did they ask what data you needed & where it was stored on the faulty drive

Perhaps its a compatibility issue with the size of the new drive
ie 4K sectors ?

Ninjabear
30-06-2014, 12:05 PM
Dont name the company,
but was this a PC repair shop, or a data recovery specialist( ie data recovery is all they do)

Do they still have your data on their severs , can they copy it back for you?

did they sucessfully recover the data ??? perhaps the data recovery didnt work ?
Exactly what did they do, does it say in their invoice ?
did they ask what data you needed & where it was stored on the faulty drive

Perhaps its a compatibility issue with the size of the new drive
ie 4K sectors ?

It was a data recovery specialist not a PC repair shop.
I filled up a form and they recovered everything.
The invoice just states something like class 100 clean room with the amount.
They did say it was sucessful and its still on their server so I asked them to copy again. I have to wait as its not a priority anymore.
They said something about the drive being GPT and it was checked on their computer using Windows 7.

1101
30-06-2014, 12:14 PM
You could take in that USB dock as well, get them to check it can be read via that, once they have re-copied it.

Or just get a 1T USB Hard drive & give that to them. Sounds like you need a backup USB hard Drive anyway