PDA

View Full Version : bios password



NZHawk
28-05-2014, 10:08 AM
I have a P4SD motherboard
the bios has a password that the owner doesn't know
the motherboard has a tiny yellow button that says CMOS next to it.
I have researched but unable to find ~ how to reset the cmos
to erase the bios password.

any suggestions?

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 10:35 AM
Remove the round / CMOS battery?? Give it a minute then put it back in.

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 10:37 AM
yep tried that ~ no go (left it out for approx 15 min)
any idea's about that little yellow cmos button?

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 10:45 AM
See if something similar to this is on the mobo.

Turn it off first / unplug it

Move the jumper leave it there for 5-10mins. Then put it back to where it was

Then reconnect it then see if you can get into the BIOS. If you can you'll have to reconfigure the BIOS settings

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 10:47 AM
nope ~ no jumpers


The motherboard looks like this
5740

and has this button ~ how do I use it
5741

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 11:03 AM
The yellow button may reset it if it doesnt have the jumpers

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:09 AM
any guesses how long to hold it down for?
with or without power?

1101
28-05-2014, 11:09 AM
nope ~ no jumpers


and has this button ~ how do I use it
5741

push the button, the shiny red button . Be carefull not to erase history
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jjN-H62U64&feature=kp
:waughh:

Seriously tho, turn off the PC, push the button

or turn off pc, unplug power supply cable, remove the battery next to the button.
Go make a cupa tea , come back & you should be all erased.

Remember to reset the time & date !!!

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 11:12 AM
Only mobo I can find is this HP one (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00022505&cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&product=326411). But the battery is on the other side to your pic

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:15 AM
wish there was a red button!

I left the cmos battery out for 30 minutes
pushed the button with & without power

still wants a password to enter bios
When booting it shows HP D530 SFF?

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:16 AM
wish there was a red button!

I left the cmos battery out for 30 minutes
pushed the button with & without power

still wants a password to enter bios
When booting it shows HP D530 SFF?

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 11:17 AM
Well this must be it (http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/public/psi/mostViewedResults/?sp4ts.oid=316713)

Try the bottom post (http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Compaq-Elite-Pro/D530-SFF-bios-Reset/td-p/3918068)

1) Just remove the E49 jumper (green) next to the battery.

2) Power on the computer, enter bios.

3) Switch off and replace the jumper.

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:20 AM
Just found this:

1) Just remove the E49 jumper (green) next to the battery.
2) Power on the computer, enter bios.
3) Switch off and replace the jumper.

because if it being HP D530 SFF

going to try it will report back

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:23 AM
Yep worked ~

thank you!

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 11:25 AM
Sweet! Dont forget to reconfigure the BIOS settings

NZHawk
28-05-2014, 11:28 AM
Roger

Speedy Gonzales
28-05-2014, 11:36 AM
That's the only thing with HP desktops. They're not HP mobos they're usually ASUS branded. But ASUS dont have anything for them !

The only way you're going to find anything for them is by a serial #, or part # or something HP related

KarameaDave
28-05-2014, 12:26 PM
try the suggestion on this page.

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Compaq-Elite-Pro/D530-bios-password-reset/td-p/1057170#.U4Uei3Zpee4


Oh, too late, you already found it!

minster
28-05-2014, 06:17 PM
Is this it? http://www.gnuyoga.in/2011/06/hp-compaq-d530-small-form-factor.html

Sorry too late:)