PDA

View Full Version : Won't Boot



lostsoul62
29-04-2014, 12:59 AM
The electric went off for about one second last night and now my computer won't boot. I have windows 7 64 bit. I get a message saying "Reboot and select proper boot drive or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key." Which don't work or I'm doing something wrong?

lostsoul62
29-04-2014, 01:57 AM
I tried to edit my post. Somehow my two hard drives got switch around so I switch them in my BIOS and it booted, but this was not the boot menu. Now I'm putting my UPS on my computers because I was just too lazy to do it but here in AR I think it wise and I didn't turn off my computers in a huge electric storm. Live and learn.

CliveM
29-04-2014, 09:38 AM
That is the main reason I always run my equiptment via a UPS. Saves potential problems.

linw
29-04-2014, 09:30 PM
Yep, when the leccy starts flying around, get those suckers shutdown and pull the plugs! Good advice for all the expensive or complex devices.

Agent_24
30-04-2014, 12:13 PM
BIOS battery might be low\flat and the power loss meant the settings were lost, and it didn't know which drive to boot from.