PDA

View Full Version : Linux Help, installing to a flash drive

dugimodo
26-04-2014, 04:42 PM
I have a laptop with no hard drive for now so I want to install linux on a flash drive as an interim solution.
However it keeps failing and I am a total linux novice so I need some guidance. When I google it I get a bewildering list of command lines to type and I really don't want to go down that road.

so far I've tried;
Linux MINT x64 - Live CD works, installs to flash drive but after a few hours or days it stops working - icons all change to generic and nothing works, no Idea what's failing.
Kubuntu x86 - Live CD works, will not install to flash drive - guided partitioning is making the wrong partitions and install runs out of space, no Idea how to fix this and have been fighting with it for a while
Puppy linux live CD - corrupted screen, guess there's no graphics driver working

Prefer not to use standard Ubuntu as I don't like unity, prefer not to use live CD as limited functionality and it takes a very long time to boot. Linux MINT looks very nice if it would stop crapping out, but I've installed it 3 times now with the same result - works for a while then bugs out. Would the 32 bit version be worth a try ?

Agent_24
26-04-2014, 04:49 PM
I'm guessing there is some bug or more likely your flash drive is corrupting data which is why Mint loses icons and breaks.

Use manual partitioning instead if guided doesn't work.

Rememer you can install Ubuntu then uninstall Unity afterwards and install some other desktop environment. Or you could try Xubuntu or Lubuntu.

dugimodo
26-04-2014, 05:00 PM
I can't figure out manual partitioning, how many partitions, what type, what size, how do I set one as root?
I'm about to try the 32 bit version of MINT, I'll see how that goes.

Speedy Gonzales
26-04-2014, 05:40 PM
What are you using to put it on a flash drive?? Try rufus (http://rufus.akeo.ie/)

dugimodo
26-04-2014, 06:35 PM