PDA

View Full Version : no bootable device



NZHawk
24-02-2014, 11:51 AM
Acer laptop
Windows 7
boots to error: "no bootable device"
press enter goes to Boot Option menu ~ but no boot devices listed
am able to get into bios: hdd is recognized
am not able to get into safe mode

tried a 2nd hdd ~ safe error
re-seat ram ~ same error

will not boot to Hirens or Ubuntu (linux)

suggestions?

dugimodo
24-02-2014, 12:51 PM
Got an external optical drive or a bootable USB flash drive you can try? Sounds a bit like there's a problems with the onboard hdd controller.

Also maybe if you can find out how to reset the BIOS it might be worth a try.
One thing first though, unplug all USB devices just in case one of them is trying to be the boot device, happens occasionally - Mates Computer won't boot if His Wife leaves her smartphone connected to it for charging.

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 10:48 AM
external optical drive: still shows "no bootable device:
reset the BIOS: no change.
unplug all USB devices: only a mouse connected, disconnected still no change

other suggestions please

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 10:59 AM
Since you've reset the BIOS did you reconfigure it?? Does the hdd still appear in the BIOS? Check the cable going to the hdd, make sure it's in properly? May not be in properly or it maybe damaged

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 11:07 AM
reconfigure Bios ~ not sure how to do this
the hdd does still appear in the BIOS,
reconfigured BIOS to boot from the usb dvd drive: no change ~ still no bootable device
Check the cable going to the hdd: there is no cable, the jack is part of the laptop housing

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 11:22 AM
And it still wont boot if you change the bootdisk to the hdd? Do you have a windows dvd? If it wont boot from a USB drive, try something like rufus (http://rufus.akeo.ie/) make a bootdisk from the DVD. If you've got one. See if that works

Is it 32 bit?? There was an update (kb2823324) that stuffed something up a while ago, that affected 32 bit. How long has it been out of action?

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 12:26 PM
I have had the boot disk 1st to the hdd ~ no change
Yes I have a windows dvd. ~ I have tried booting from Hirens or Ubuntu (linux) neither worked
tried with rufus ~ can see it accessing the usb drive but still doesn't boot.

I don't know which version as I haven't been able to boot.
It been out of action since last week.

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 12:27 PM
I have had the boot disk 1st to the hdd ~ no change
Yes I have a windows dvd. ~ I have tried booting from Hirens or Ubuntu (linux) neither worked
tried with rufus ~ can see it accessing the usb drive but still doesn't boot.

I don't know which version as I haven't been able to boot.
It been out of action since last week.

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 12:32 PM
If there's a network option to boot from, in the BIOS disable it. Maybe its trying to boot from something else other than the hdd or USB

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 12:36 PM
cant disable boot options
the network boot - IPV4 and network boot - IPV6 are at the bottom of the list

the boot mode is set to: UEFI

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 12:53 PM
Is there a legacy boot option in the BIOS?? According to this (https://blogs.technet.com/b/askcore/archive/2011/05/31/installing-windows-7-on-uefi-based-computer.aspx) if it's 32 bit, it doesnt support UEFI boot

If you try and boot 32 bit, in UEFI mode, it'll say what you're saying. No bootable device

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 12:58 PM
2 points!! ~ that was it ~ legacy boot worked ~ :)
THANK YOU

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 01:00 PM
Sweet ! So must be 32 bit??

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 01:02 PM
Except when we try to login now it says "The RPC server is unavailable"
and we can't log in.

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 01:03 PM
Hmm what about safe mode, can you get into that?

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 01:07 PM
no
there is no password
press enter in safe mode still brings up "The RPC server is unavailable"

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 01:12 PM
tried last known good configuration ~
got into windows desktop ~
but with a few errors


the errors are related to a program Conduit ~ seems to be malware
will review how to remove it.

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 01:20 PM
Reboot see if it boots normally now. If you can somehow boot from DVD, you could try this (http://superuser.com/questions/203733/unable-to-log-into-windows-7-pc-the-rpc-server-is-unavailable)

If you can get into msconfig from last good known config, untick what you think is suss under the startup tab, then reboot

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 01:42 PM
Or if you're on the desktop in last known good config, check if its 32 or 64 bit. I can export those reg entries here, depending on the version of win7 thats on it

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 01:53 PM
64 bit

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 01:56 PM
Hmm is this laptop with you now?? I could send you the reg files for those / that rpc entries / service etc. All you have to do is import them into the registry. Then reboot then see what happens. If you're on the desktop on the laptop now can it get online?

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 02:03 PM
Thank you Speedy ~ not necessary as the laptop boots fine except for the two errors relating to Conduit

There is a problem starting:
C:\users\brian\appdata\local\conduit\BackgroundCon taner\BackgroundContaner.dll

I just need to completely remove conduit.

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 02:08 PM
OK cool. Run malwarebytes on it. See if Conduit appears in programs and features. If it does uninstall it

NZHawk
25-02-2014, 02:10 PM
Coool will do ~ thank you

Speedy Gonzales
25-02-2014, 02:11 PM
No probs