PDA

View Full Version : Modem worry.



Bryan
04-12-2013, 04:28 PM
I have a Telecom Technicolor TG582n. It did function with LAN. I decided I would give Wi-fi a go and have set it up and this runs perfectly. However, I now find that the LAN feature has been disabled. I can no longer connect with LAN to either my desktop or to the TV (not that that is a concern).

My problem is if I want two PCs to have Internet access at the same time, no go.

Can I get around this?

wratterus
04-12-2013, 04:52 PM
Pretty odd, not seen that before and I don't think you can disable the LAN on those modems.

If you plug a PC in and run ipconfig from the command prompt, what does it spit out? copy and paste the info here if you can.

Otherwise try a factory reset on the modem.

Bryan
04-12-2013, 05:03 PM
ipconfig just flashed and disappeared.

I just pulled the LAN plugs from the back of the modem and put them into different spots and "lo and behold" it works. Thanks for the suggestions!

wratterus
05-12-2013, 09:20 AM
All good - you would have typed ipconfig into the run box, rather than into a command prompt.

Typing 'cmd' into the run box then pressing enter opens the command prompt, then you can type ipconfig in there, not that it matters now though.