PDA

View Full Version : Using a child theme in Wordpress

DakotaNZ
10-10-2013, 07:21 PM
Hi Guys,

I am a bit of a newbie so please bare with me here....I am using Wordpress and the twenty eleven theme, I have created a child theme using cyberduck but now I'm stuck (poet and I don't even know it). I have looked on you tube and google but can't seem to figure out the next step, how do I actually make customized changes to my site? I have tried entering the css code into the editor on wordpress and nothing happens am I supposed to enter it into cyberduck instead? I hope this makes sense and any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Webdevguy
11-10-2013, 08:37 AM
You might find this site handy http://codex.wordpress.org/Getting_Started_with_WordPress

Question - Are you running your website on a remote hosted server that requires files to be uploaded to the site or are you running your Wordpress site on a XAMP server on your desktop?

Webdevguy
11-10-2013, 08:45 AM
Also if you want something that is better than Cyberduck for uploading files to remote servers you could try Filezilla https://filezilla-project.org/

BTW - what part of your site are you trying to make changes to via CSS?

DakotaNZ
11-10-2013, 11:36 AM
Hey Webdevguy,

I had a look at the wordpress codex page already but couldn't find the answers I was after. As for your first question about the host I am guessing (sorry newbie) it's a hosted server I use Openhost (not sure if that was what you were meaning). I also tried filezilla first off but got a little lost with it and cyberduck seemed way easier. I am trying to do things like make my header smaller, centre my widgets in the right margin and increase my margins in the body :)

Webdevguy
11-10-2013, 12:08 PM
Hey Webdevguy,