PDA

View Full Version : Code needed so that laptop finds home network automatically



dianne pierce
26-09-2013, 10:51 PM
I know there is some sort of code that will allow a laptop to find my home network automatically but I have forgotten what it is. My desktop is Windows XP HE Version 2 SP3, the laptop is Windows 7. Have Thomson TG585 v7 modem. Currently when son comes home from work he has to connect his laptop to our network manually whereas previously as soon as he opened the laptop it went online immediately. Does anyone know what the code is please?

inphinity
27-09-2013, 08:26 AM
Wireless or ethernet? What steps is it not doing? What steps do you have to take to connect? Else, when the "Capcom" logo comes up, quickly press Down, R, Up, L, Y, B before it disappears.

dugimodo
27-09-2013, 10:41 AM
Huh what? is that Xbox or something? Don't see how it's relative to the question.

There's no code, the laptop should remember the connection and connect automatically. Maybe he's changed a setting and it's not storing the password or it's been stored incorrectly and it's failing to connect. Find the wifi connection in the list and delete it, then rescan and set it up again and see if that helps.

CYaBro
27-09-2013, 11:26 AM
The wireless code will be printed on a sticker on the back of the TG585 modem.

dianne pierce
27-09-2013, 12:37 PM
Wireless or ethernet? What steps is it not doing? What steps do you have to take to connect? Else, when the "Capcom" logo comes up, quickly press Down, R, Up, L, Y, B before it disappears.

Wireless. Always have to connect manually eg choose our network etc.

dianne pierce
27-09-2013, 12:39 PM
Huh what? is that Xbox or something? Don't see how it's relative to the question.

There's no code, the laptop should remember the connection and connect automatically. Maybe he's changed a setting and it's not storing the password or it's been stored incorrectly and it's failing to connect. Find the wifi connection in the list and delete it, then rescan and set it up again and see if that helps.

Yes there is a code eg list of numbers that are typed in - were given that before and it worked perpectly - a real simple fix - wish we had written it down. Will try all suggestions on here - thnks

inphinity
27-09-2013, 12:41 PM
When you go to Manage Wireless Networks, does it say 'Connect Automatically' or 'Automatically connect' next to the one you're having trouble with? If not, there should be a tickbox for it.

dianne pierce
29-09-2013, 12:13 PM
Yes, it is marked to connect automatically. This morning the laptop conencted automatically but only after a delay of 2 minutes - is there anyway we can we change it so that it connects straight away as soon as the laptop is opened?

wainuitech
29-09-2013, 12:32 PM
Yes, it is marked to connect automatically. This morning the laptop conencted automatically but only after a delay of 2 minutes - is there anyway we can we change it so that it connects straight away as soon as the laptop is opened? The bold text -- is the laptop in sleep mode and you open it ? If so when going into sleep mode a lot of laptops turn off certain features to save power, the networking / Wireless is one of them, so if its in sleep mode it has to wake up first.

Sometimes as well, depending on the strength of the signal when starting from off it can take a short while to connect, the further away it is from the source the longer it can take.