PDA

View Full Version : connects but cant surf



07-12-2001, 03:05 AM
when i get on line most of the time i can not get any web sites but sometimes it surfs fine
it shows that its connected
i am running me ie and a 56k dialup connection
any help most appreciated

07-12-2001, 03:41 AM
I had a similar problem some time ago. I could do Symantec and Microsoft Windows downloads but no surfing. Somehow, my settings changed to using proxy server. The boxes were checked so I removed the check and all ok.

07-12-2001, 07:19 AM
Where are the boxes to check or uncheck?

My firewall has recently been asking me whether I should allow a proxy server to access the internet, and, of course, if I say 'no' nothing can be done.

Who is your ISP, Roy? (tell me in email if you don't want to say here).

If these things are being changed remotely by an ISP or other third party I think we need to know why.

Steve B.