PDA

View Full Version : Browser Change



Lurking
05-09-2013, 11:18 PM
Strange one this ! anyway of finding out the instigator?

Lurking.

wainuitech
05-09-2013, 11:25 PM
Super Antispyware and Spybot S & D can throw up that message.

Lurking
05-09-2013, 11:42 PM
Wai, have Super Antispyware on pc, never had this happen with all the times it's been used, could it have come through with an update perhaps.

Tks.

Lurking.

1101
06-09-2013, 02:34 PM
It could even just be MS trying to force Bing as the browser default search engine :-)

Load up Ghostery Firefox addon, it will block tracking cookies & scripts on web pages that may do stuff you dont want
http://www.ghostery.com/

Lurking
07-09-2013, 05:06 PM
It could even just be MS trying to force Bing as the browser default search engine :-)

Load up Ghostery Firefox addon, it will block tracking cookies & scripts on web pages that may do stuff you dont want
http://www.ghostery.com/

1101, whew, had to leave it running over night !

Bit off for moi, it said there were over 2,000,000 odd infections.

Each time a new browser screen comes up a different little black box appears top r/h corner:

DoubleClick
Google Adsense
NetRatings SiteCensus
ScoreCard Research Beacon
Yahoo Analytics

Almost as bad as the IE one.

Thanks,

Lurking.

Speedy Gonzales
07-09-2013, 05:11 PM
Dont think those are infections theyre tracking cookies etc. You'll be surprised by the crap some sites load / redirect to, when you visit them

Lurking
07-09-2013, 05:15 PM
Hi Speedy, yes I see that black box is part of the website 1101 gave above.

The c r a p that we get now is becoming overwhelming eh.

Regards,

Lurking.