PDA

View Full Version : Ports wont forward



Spudgun
25-08-2013, 12:29 PM
I'm trying to forward some ports on my router for an application I use. I've set myself a static IP within my LAN (192.168.1.2) and have forwarded the necessary ports in my router (25000-25003) but for some reason I'm still getting a port closed for each port when I test to see if they are open.

I have also tested to see if this was a firewall issue (closed my firewall, and then tested without it) but that just produced the same result.

I'm a Slingshot customer and am running a NetComm NB604n router.

Does anyone know why I'm not able to open those ports?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks :)

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 12:34 PM
Is your app listening at the time you are testing?

What does netstat -a show?

Spudgun
25-08-2013, 12:43 PM
Is your app listening at the time you are testing?

What does netstat -a show?

Netstat -a doesn't show any of the ports open/listening for my static ip.

It wouldn't be an application problem If the ports aren't even reachable would it?

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Well, a port will show closed if the scanner doesn't get a response from a server listening on that port.

Run something else to listen on those ports (ssh, webserver, vnc etc) to test your portforwards.
If that works, then it's your app.

Spudgun
25-08-2013, 12:54 PM
I'm using PFPortChecker to check the ports. It's an application from PortForward.com.

That is showing that the ports are closed. Is that good enough or should I use another application?

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 01:08 PM
It doesn't matter what you are using, something has to respond on those ports.
Until you can rule out one or the other, you won't know if the problem is with your app or your port forwarding config.

edit: from your netstat output, I think your app.
confirm by putting another listening server on the port.

Spudgun
25-08-2013, 01:16 PM
When I use another application with the associated port it is appearing in the netstat as "TIME_WAIT"

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 01:17 PM
... and you get an "OPEN" from your port checker?

Spudgun
25-08-2013, 01:20 PM
Nope.. I get "Your port is NOT OPEN or not reachable"

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 01:28 PM
So, what is the other application?

Spudgun
25-08-2013, 01:41 PM
I was using uTorrent to test the port number. That was the application that produced the "TIME_WAIT".

Should I try using something else?

fred_fish
25-08-2013, 02:06 PM
That should work, but it should also show listening in netstat...