PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with 'Favourites' in Windows 7.

jhemm
24-08-2013, 06:01 PM
Total newbie to this forum caper, please excuse any cock-ups.

Favorites has gone funny - normally when I select a Favourite through IE the website pops up almost immediately. But now a number of my favourites take up to five minutes to load, if they load at all. For many the little circling thingy in the Blank page field just goes on and on until I lose patience. Seems to be no rhyme or reason in which pages are affected - e.g. I can't get TV3, TVNZ is fine. Can't get the UK Guardian, but am allowed the Independent. About half of the blogs I follow are affected. Modem seems to be ok, have reset it anyway. Done a virus sweep with AVG and with Malwarebytes.

WTF ???
I've had a hell of a job getting in here this far, and hope I can find my way back. If you have an answer, a personal email to me as well as or instead of a forum answer would be much appreciated.

jhemm
24-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Senility is really setting in - after all that I forgot to give my email address in case anyone prefers to reply by email.

address is: [edited]

Driftwood
24-08-2013, 06:18 PM
Not a good idea putting your email address on an open forum

pcuser42
24-08-2013, 06:43 PM
Welcome to the forum :)

As Driftwood mentioned, it is not a good idea to post email addresses on a public forum as spambots come here and harvest them. Replying by email also defeats the purpose of a forum as it doesn't allow other people who may have the same problem to view your resolution. :)

wainuitech
24-08-2013, 06:46 PM
Wouldn't rely on AVG to much, that Antivirus ( and thats calling it politely) can cause many problems.

That aside, try this and report back what happens - Click start, type in Internet Explorer , Select Internet Explorer( No Add-ons) ignore any warnings, check to see how the favorites open, and see if the other previous pages open or not. "if" they work as they should, theres a Add-on causing the problem.