PDA

View Full Version : Canon printer - no power up



ozzie_fred
22-06-2013, 01:14 AM
I'm having a problem with a Canon PIXMA iP4000 printer not powering up. It had been working perfectly but has refused to power up.
I have the power supply out and the primary side of the switch mode PS is fine and the two output feeds are 8 and 10 volts. I have read elsewhere that pin 5 of the output connector brings back a low voltage (3volt?) that tells the PS to increase these outputs to the rated 24 and 27v.
I haven’t traced this sense circuit yet but presume that it is not supplying the required “bias”.
Can anybody help with any experience as to common problems with this sense wire’s circuit, or where I can get a schematic?
(BTW the power board has 2 numbers on it, PS-A126 and P1222)

Agent_24
22-06-2013, 01:56 AM
Doubt you'll get a schematic anywhere but I had a similar problem with a Canon. Not sure the model number, will check.

I believe it was not the PSU at fault, more likely a logic board fault.

Speedy Gonzales
22-06-2013, 08:26 AM
Looks like this was a common prob with this model. some sites say it maybe a print head error. And according to this site, the print head has some kind of self-diagnosing notification system. (http://www.ehow.com/how_5336608_troubleshoot-pixma-ip-print-head.html)

I had a similar prob with the MX436, not long after I had brought it. It did turn on but beeped a few times, then did nothing. I have no idea what the prob was, but when I opened the part where the ink cartridges were, ink had leaked all over the place. In the end I took it back to NL (it was a few mths old). They were going to send it back to Canon, but they had no spare parts.. So they replaced it with another

Here's a service manual for it.. (http://www.timtaylor.net/tech/iP4000 Service Manual.pdf) <- pdf file

wainuitech
22-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Had a similar problem with a Canon printer a few weeks back - couldn't get replacement parts, even from canon. Needed a new logic board & Heads, could have got them from USA, but the cost was more than a new printer.

ozzie_fred
23-06-2013, 08:24 PM
Thanks for the responses.
Agent_24 it was your posting on your similar problem that brought me to this site.
Speedy Gonzales thanks for the advice about the error beeps. I do know about them, but it is not powering up at all so it can't even communicate with me.
Wainuitech, thanks for that unfortunate information.
Following on from Agent_24's earlier posting, I have disconnected the printer from the PSU and put a dummy load of about 20% of the supply's rating and applied an externally sourced 3 volt to the sense wire (pin5) of the PSU output and the PSU then increased its outputs into the dummy loads to 28 and 24.3 volt. So the PSU is OK.
It's a bit of a crummy design that shuts the system down to such an extent that it can't even report its problem!
I am tempted to apply the 3v to pin 5 with the PSU connected to the printer to see if I can at least get the error codes and address the underlying problem. Any thoughts on the wisdom of doing this? I'd probably play safe and cut the circuit to inject the 3v (or could I just connect it onto this circuit through something like a 1k resistor?)

Agent_24
23-06-2013, 08:58 PM
The logic board is probably either dead or has such a severe fault it doesn't dare start up for fear of the magic smoke escaping.
Those printers do have a pretty comprehensive fault code list, although considering the service costs I don't know why Canon actually bothered with it.

Without a schematic, any board level repair is probably going to be tricky, unless you spot an obviously blown part or such.

You could try forcing a power on, I would disconnect the wire going to the logic board to be on the safe side. If you're lucky and you get a proper error code, and you can find working replacement parts from another dead machine or such, great.

Otherwise I expect a new one will be cheaper :(

gary67
23-06-2013, 09:44 PM
I had an iP3000 go up in smoke a few years ago, put a second hand power pack in and it went for another 3 years before I finally upgraded it to a iP4700 which is now 4 years old and going strong

Robin S_
23-06-2013, 11:10 PM
I have 2 iP4000s, one of which won't power up. I swapped the printer powerpacks and the problem stayed with the same printer (its power pack worked OK in the good printer so the power pack was not faulty). I wondered if the power switch is faulty.

ozzie_fred
25-06-2013, 01:33 AM
I decided to take the print head out and found that it had suffered a rather severe burn. Reconnecting power with the head out gave a normal power up (and an error code that means print head problem (an understatement)).

I see that replacement print heads are available (not cheap) and one online site that has refurbished ones warns that new ones can burn out immediately if the main board is faulty and they warn customers to check their main board first.
1. I wonder if anybody knows how such a check could be done?
2. I also wonder if a new one may burn out if it is used before the ink had had a chance to get into the new head, allowing it to overheat because it was still dry?
3. Has anybody on this forum had the experience of a replacement head burning out immediately?

Lurking
25-06-2013, 12:13 PM
Can't help you ozzie, but the wife has had the series from ip4000 up to ip4500 (which she has passed down to moi), they have all been a parcel of s h i t!!!!.

The best one I had was the Canon 330 model and it was a beaut, earthquakes are not good for electronic devices, that printer, a laptop and a couple of displays bit the dust.

Wife has a MP640 now and it's still a parcel of s h i t.

When in the work force the company had all Epsom and they were not too bad.

By the way a couple of the printers were replaced at no cost to the wife, probabley had been returned, lol.

Lurking.

1101
25-06-2013, 01:47 PM
Can't help you ozzie, but the wife has had the series from ip4000 up to ip4500 (which she has passed down to moi), they have all been a parcel of s h i t!!!!.


I had a ip3000. easily the best inkjet Ive owned. Lasted many a year, printhead finally gave up the ghost recently.
Given how good the 3000 was, Id have thought the 4000 would have been the bees knees. :)

the Ip4000 in question may be a lost cause though.
Its certainly not worth the time & cost involved trying to fix it unfortunately .

Lurking
25-06-2013, 02:31 PM
I had a ip3000. easily the best inkjet Ive owned. Lasted many a year, printhead finally gave up the ghost recently.
Given how good the 3000 was, Id have thought the 4000 would have been the bees knees. :)

the Ip4000 in question may be a lost cause though.
Its certainly not worth the time & cost involved trying to fix it unfortunately .

1101 would go with you on that remark.

Shame the wife didn't come in with the ip3000 then, lol, she could always be a jinx tho, rofl.

Have a great day, I'm out to mow the lawns.

Lurking.