PDA

View Full Version : BSOD



NZHawk
20-06-2013, 10:31 AM
Could someone assist me & tell me what to look at that is causing the BSOD:
==================================================
Dump File : Mini031413-01.dmp
Crash Time : 14/03/2013 8:56:09 a.m.
Bug Check String : CRITICAL_OBJECT_TERMINATION
Bug Check Code : 0x000000f4
Parameter 1 : 0x00000003
Parameter 2 : 0x8641ada0
Parameter 3 : 0x8641af14
Parameter 4 : 0x805c86bc
Caused By Driver : ntoskrnl.exe
Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+21cf3
File Description : NT Kernel & System
Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Company : Microsoft Corporation
File Version : 5.1.2600.6387 (xpsp_sp3_qfe.130503-0418)
Processor : 32-bit
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+21cf3
Stack Address 1 : ntoskrnl.exe+f0741
Stack Address 2 : ntoskrnl.exe+f1767
Stack Address 3 : ntoskrnl.exe+66748
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini031413-01.dmp
Processors Count : 1
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 2600
Dump File Size : 94,208
==================================================

Thank you

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 10:47 AM
Are there any programs or games installed that use securom?? It looks like this can cause that stop error

Get this unzip it see if it picks up anything to do with securom (https://support.securom.com/removaltool.html)

It looks like it can also happen, if there's a prob with the hdd / or hdd cable..

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 10:53 AM
Will do.
I ran two tests on the hdd - 1 said error the other no error?

Nothing showed in the removal window - ran it anway.

bevy121
20-06-2013, 02:30 PM
Who Crashed is quite good for automatically diagnosing the crash dump file(s) and giving you more understandable info

http://www.resplendence.com/download/whoCrashedSetup.exe

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 02:49 PM
Thank you
ran it
but no crash dumps were found

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 03:07 PM
Does this apply? (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330100)

A computer that is running Microsoft Windows XP or a later operating system stops responding during resume from standby, and you receive the following KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR stop error message:
0x0000007a (e163a3e4,c000000e,bf8e9313,0697f860)

or

0x000000F4 (0x00000003, Parameter2, Parameter3, Parameter4)

Note Parameter2, Parameter3, and Parameter4 in the stop error may vary. Looks like the stop error and the first parameter are the same as yours

This problem occurs on a computer in which Windows XP or a later operating system is installed on a hard disk that is configured as a subordinate and no other device is connected to the same IDE controller channel (primary or secondary).

Try this from the link above

To resolve this behavior, use one of the following methods:

For Parallel Advanced Technology Attachment (PATA) hard disks, configure your disk drive as master only. For Serial Advanced Technology Attachment (SATA) hard disks, connect the hard disk cable to a master channel SATA connector on the motherboard.

Connect another device as a master, such as another disk drive or a CD drive or DVD drive.

Change your PATA cables, your SATA cable, or your IDE cable even if the cable does not appear worn.

Install Windows on a new hard disk because it is possible that your hard disk or your Windows installation may be corrupted.

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 03:13 PM
OS: Windows XP Home
stop responding: yes
hard disk that is configured as a subordinate: ? - not sure what this means (C: system partition)
no other device is connected to the same IDE controller channel: yes/correct

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 03:17 PM
I think it means is it set to MA if it's IDE? Not SL. And is it connected to the end of the IDE cable NOT to the other connection? And if it's connected to Primary on the mobo is it set to MA on the hdd?

bevy121
20-06-2013, 03:31 PM
you must have cleared your temp files since the bsod?


Thank you
ran it
but no crash dumps were found

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 03:33 PM
you must have cleared your temp files since the bsod?
yes

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 03:58 PM
I think it means is it set to MA if it's IDE? Not SL. And is it connected to the end of the IDE cable NOT to the other connection? And if it's connected to Primary on the mobo is it set to MA on the hdd?
It's a sata drive
I will replace the cable per previous suggestion
run chkdsk
& also run another drive diagnostics

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 04:49 PM
If it crashes again with another cable try another port. Whats the brand/model of the mobo?? Or is it something like an HP/Dell?

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 04:54 PM
MB: Intel Desktop D915GAG / D915PSY

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 04:58 PM
What BIOS is on it? Looks like thats up to 0482

NZHawk
20-06-2013, 05:02 PM
EV9151A.86A.0444

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 05:11 PM
Looks like its 8 BIOS updates behind. According to this (http://downloadmirror.intel.com/10140/eng/EV_0482_ReleaseNotes.pdf)

I would update it sometime. It'll probably fix a few issues / bugs (https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=10140&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%20XP%20%20Home%20Edition*&DownloadType=)

1101
20-06-2013, 05:27 PM
Will do.
I ran two tests on the hdd - 1 said error the other no error?

Nothing showed in the removal window - ran it anway.

Removal window ??

what error did the HD test show, what HD test did you run.
The HD could have an intermittent fault. Replace it if it fails HD tests (depends on the test & the errors of course)

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2013, 09:11 PM
The hdd isnt an SSD is it?? Looks like this stop error can be caused by out of date firmware. What AV program is on it?? Symantec programs can also cause this stop error