PDA

View Full Version : BIOS on a Packard Bell machine??



04-12-2001, 03:44 PM
my boyfriend has a year old Packard Bell machine running win98 - P3, 384MB RAM, etc

He has just added a second hard disk (it's a Seagate 20 gig I think).. apparently he has to change some settings in the BIOS, but no matter what he tries (pushing shift or delete key on bootup) it won't go into the BIOS..
Is there something to do with Packard Bell machines that it won't let you access the BIOS??
Is there something he's doing wrong? - when exactly do you push shift/delete?
Is there something else he could try?

Any tips appreciated :-)

04-12-2001, 04:59 PM
I'm not familiar with the Packard, but sometimes it's F1 to get into the bios, and normally it's done right at the start of your computer starting up. Sometimes the monitor doesn't light up quick enough for you to catch the right spot in the bootup, so you sort of have to guess when to do it.

Somebody with a Packard will probably read this and help you out.

Or read the manual.

04-12-2001, 05:10 PM
The BIOS software is written by specialist companies, and some box makers have used several BIOS suppliers. There are a number of different keycodes to access them, depending on the supplier.

The code is *usually* displayed on the screen, but it will be in the manual. (if there is a collection of books, try the Mother Board one first). The time to enter the keycode is usually just after the powerup tests, as the BIOS, video, etc information appears on the screen.

If the monitor comes up too slowly, try powering it with your electric jug cord (or any other IEC power cord ytou have handy).